1863: Cathryn Weir to George Christie

These letters were written by 45 year-old Cathryn Weir (1808-1891), the wife of Charles Weir (1802-1873) of Rossville, Vermillion county, Illinois. The Weir’s were natives of Scotland. They lived for a time in Schaghticoke, Rensselaer county, New York, before settling in Illinois.

In her letter, Cathryn writes of her son James (“Jim”) Knox Weir (1834-1864) who enlisted on 10 June 1861 at Danville in Co. B, 25th Illinois Infantry. Jim was promoted to a 2nd Lieutenant on 24 July 1863 and was with his regiment until 21 June 1864 when he was killed by a sharpshooter at Marietta, Georgia.

Cathryn and Charlie also had a daughter named Lisa Weir (1835-1918) who was married in 1858 to Alonzo Alexander Loutzenhiser (1824-1911). The couple resided in Danville, Vermillion county, Illinois. Their son Charles Weir Loutzenhiser was born. on 24 March 1860. Alonzo was a 2nd Lt. in Co. F, 4th Illinois Cavalry; he resigned his commission on 3 May 1862.

Cathryn wrote these letters to George Christie (1806-1880) of Wayne, Fulton county, Indiana. George was married to a woman named Margaret (1812-1872) and they had a son named Robert Christie (1839-1862) who served in Co. E, 29th Indiana Infantry and died of disease in Nashville, Tennessee. He and his parents are buried in Allison Cemetery in Fulton county, Indiana.

[See also—1862: Charles weir to George Christie]

Letter 1

North Fork. Vermillion county, [Illinois]
March 6th [1862]

My dear and much respected friends,

I received your friendly letter last week and was truly glad to hear that you and Mrs. Christie was well. And as for our families that were large is now pretty small. There is only Charlie at home with us. Cass has been at Danville all winter with Eliza as her husband has gone to the war too and I am afraid he is killed for there was an awful loss of life at the talking of Fort Donelson. He is 1st [2nd] Lieutenant, 4th Illinois Cavalry. Wallace’s Brigade. They were almost out of but the newspapers will inform you better than I can. I don’ get any news here but once a week and I fret all the time. There was 7 dead bodies came to Danville with the cars one day and five the next day. I have got no word since. I think the Colonel’s name is Dickey. They mostly all belong to Danville.

James’ regiment is the 25th Illinois Volunteers. The last letter we got from him he was at Rolla. They had got orders to be ready to march and he did not know when he would write again. He was well and seemed in good spirits. He said they thought they was going to Springfield to keep the rebels. Sigel is their General.

I know well how you feel about [your son] Robert and I hope he is well again and will be spared to return home. All wars is bad but I think this war a just one and now since they have started in earnest, I hope they will not stop now until they put down the traitors and murder and robbers in such a way that they will never rise again. And when they finish that business of their own, not to stop until they go to Mexico and drive out the Allied Powers and give that dreadful treacherous England a good thrashing and her to mind her own business. I know they can put the traitors down and her too if they would be true to each other at Mexico and support herself without assistance from any of them them.

Slavery was the stumbling block that the American Generals felt upon. It stood in the way and they could not get over it or they never would have had a Bulls Run. Now I think they have put that out of the way and victory will crown their army.

But George, while I write this, do I forget how many useful and valuable lives has and will be sacrificed to accomplish that end? and how many, Oh how many will have to mourn the loss of them that is near and dear to them and us. But we must hope for the best and the emancipation of the slaves.

We have had a pretty open winter here although it is cold at present and times is hard. Corn is only worth 12 cents per bushel, wheat 75 its. per lb., pork 2 dollars per hundred. It is breaking up a good many farmers around here. There is no appearance of times getting better yet.

Charles sends his respects to you and Mrs. Christie and would like very much to have a talk with you now. He gets very lonesome. There is not much company here for anyone. He always liked company. He has not been able to do much all winter.

Write me oftener to let me know of Robert because I would like to know. Give my best love to your wife and sister and your family and believe me to be sincerely your true friend and well wisher, — Charles & Cathrine Weir


Letter 2

North Fork Vermillion County, Illinois
December 6th 1863

My Dear Friends,

I hope these few lines will find you all in good health. Charles complains a good deal of weakness. He is not able to do much lately and as for myself, I thought two weeks ago, I thought my days were numbered and I could not be in the land of the living till this time. But thank God I am better now and doing a little. I took a bad cold and did not pay much attention to it at first. Had a bad cough. Then it settled down on my lungs and thought I could not breath. My throat was all inflamed. I thought it was diphtheria. Never had a sore throat before and I hope never will again.

Well George, you said if health was permitted you and nothing came in the way, you would come and see us about the last of October. You did not come and I would like to know the reason or what prevented you. I sincerely hope it was not sickness with you or any of your family. I cannot think I said anything in my last letter to offend you. I should be truly sorry, and Charles often says he wishes he had you here. You would shut up some of the secessions pretty quick. He gets so mad at them. Just swears at them.

Charley went to Attica twice about the last of October thinking he could find you. He was going to get fencing so he went about that time when we expected you but there have been plenty of teams going and coming from here. The roads have been good this fall. Charles thought you would come horseback as your son-in-law had been here and could give you directions and I though so too, for when the dogs set to barking at night, I would go outdoors and haller, “Is that you, George?” thinking perhaps you has lost the way and was wandering around like myself.

Well if Turner is spared to get home—his time will be up in August—we will be very glad to see you next fall. I wonder if Mrs. Christie will ever take the notion to come and see us. You and her may just as well take a trip as not.

I got one letter from [our son] Jim since that disastrous battle. It was too heart-rending to read it. Their dead and wounded were laying out eight days on the ground without shelter. He said the weather was mild and pleasant or the wounded would have suffered more. Said every man that was able was digging like groundhogs to protect themselves and the rebels were in front in strong force. They were going to bury their dead the next day. His regiment suffered severely. Their Major was killed and some was taken prisoners. A good many from here was killed. Some had their arms amputated. He had got out of the battle without a scratch but thought they would have have another battle soon and not to be surprised if we heard of his death. They had hardly anything to eat. The [ ] was under the rebel guns. But I see by the papers they have had a good many fights since them but I have got no letter. I heard from a man that came from Danville that he saw a man of his company that had come home wounded and he said James was very sick for some time but whether it is true or not, we think the worst with him not writing.

Write soon. I am anxious to hear from you all. My respects to Mrs. Christie and family, Mrs. S. W. _ullen. I don’t forget your kindness. My old friend, no never. Yours truly, — Cathryn Win

Jean Leighton has gone back to Andover to wait on her Aunt Mary. Ellen thinks her mother won’t live long but she won’t leave her own house to live with any of them so they sent for her. Paid all her expenses and back if she wishes to come back. Mr. Leighton feels very bad at her going but she went and left her old father. I will tell you the news when she writes. He is in Sheridan’s Division.

Oh this is clothed in mourning. Cass have had some bad news of her husband and she is gone to Danville to find out.

Leave a comment