1864: William Evans Fetters to Sallie J. (Ford) Fetters

Screen Shot 2020-05-23 at 10.29.33 AM
An Ambrotype of unidentified family separated by war, Rich Brown Collection

These two letters were written by William Evan Fetters (1839-1916) who enlisted on 2 September 1864 as a private in Co. B, 203rd Pennsylvania Infantry. He was wounded in the assault on Fort Fisher, North Carolina, on 15 January 1865 but survived and was mustered out of the regiment on 22 June 1865 at Raleigh, North Carolina. In the first letter, William makes a reference to his older brother, George Washington Fetters (1837-1864) who enlisted in July 1861 in Co. D, 5th Pennsylvania Cavalry. According to regimental records, George was taken a prisoner of war on 25 June 1864 at Staunton Bridge (or Roanoke Station) and died of his wounds five days later. According to the Palmer Family history book, he was wounded own the aforementioned raid but companions could not rescue him so he fell into enemy hands, was stripped of clothing, and left to die alone. Another source states that he actually died in a Civil War Military Hospital, Roanoke River Area, Roanoke, Virginia. George’s remains are claimed to be in Saint Paul’s Lutheran Cemetery in Ardmore, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania.

William and George were the two eldest sons of Joseph Fetters (1811-1888) and Maria T. Herkins (1819-1884) of Haverford township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. William was married to Sarah Jane Ford (1839-1922) and together they would eventually have at least nine children although at the time of this letter they had only little Georgie, born in December 1862.

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER ONE

Camp near Petersburg
[@ 1 October 1864]

My dear wife,

I have just come in off guard and I now take the time and pleasure to write you a few lines to let you know that I am very well at present and hope when these few lines reach you and little George, you may both be enjoying good health.

We started from Washington the next day after I wrote you the other letter. We marched to the boat at 12 o’clock noon and was on the water 2 days and 1 night when we landed at City Point close to Bermuda Hundred. We lay there all night—or rather till midnight—when they took the cars for the front but me and two more got off the boat so as to up to General Grant’s Headquarters for it was close by and we come across of Ben Hannums and Hanley Widdos and they took us in to camp with them to stay all night for the boat was all wet and when we come down in the morning, lo and behold, the regiment had gone and left us behind.

What to do, we did not know. So we jumped on top of the cars and started for the front where we found them at noon at this camp. Sallie, we had a very rough ride on the Chesapeake Bay but we got through all safe. We are in camp about 3 hundred yards from Henderson Herkins. He was over to see me yesterday. Sallie, we are in great danger down here. They are firing all the time I was on guard, from ¼ past seven till 9 and on again at ½ past 1 and off at 4 this morning.

Sallie, I want you to write a few lines to Pap and Mother and tell them I am about 4 miles from where George is buried and they can get him home next month if nothing happens. Tell them that I had not time to write them a letter today but as soon as I can get a little more information about getting George home, I will write them another letter. Sallie, I will write you a letter whenever I get a chance to do it. We are a going to march to the left of Grant’s army today which will take 4 days to march so you must not expect me to write while on a march for it is as much as I can do to tug along. We are very near George’s old cavalry camp. The shelter for the horses still stands.

Sallie, I wish you would send a stamp in every letter I send you and 2 or 3 big needles for mine won’t take black thread. Give my love to all the [family]. I believe this is all at present. So goodbye and write soon. This is from your husband. To my wife, Sallie J. Jeffers

I had so much to tell you this time that I could not put much in about little George but I tell you I don’t forget him. Give him a kiss for me when you read this and send one from him to me in your next letter and one from you for I still and will ever remain your dear and affectionate husband, — Wm. E. Fetters

Goodbye. Here is a kiss for you and George.


TRANSCRIPTION LETTER TWO

Camp at Deep Bottom
November the 11, 1864

My dear wife,

I have nothing to do this evening so I thought I would employ my time in writing to you and George. I am getting along very well at present and I hope when these few lines reach you and little George, they may find you both enjoying good health for you hang very heavy on my mind for I know there is something to happen before long but I don’t know how soon. But I hope God will spare us all to meet once more.

Sally, there was ten men out of our company detailed today to come to this place to do provost duty and I happened to be one of them by not being very stout. We got here this afternoon about three o’clock and got our tents up and got our suppers which I only had two hard tack but the darkies that left here had more than they could carry and they filled my haversack full for me and I tell you, I was very proud for I neither had money nor anything to eat but I hope we will get paid off before long. But if you could send me a little money, I will send it back to you as soon as I get paid. Sallie, I never thought that I ever should come to want for anything. If you can get it to me, Sallie. you must direct your letter to the same old place and the Captain will forward anything you send to me for I don’t know how long we may be here—maybe all winter for all I know.

Sallie, I have a beautiful little book in my pocket. I would like to send it home for my little boy if I had an envelope large enough. I will try and get one before I close this letter. Sallie, we are right along the James River and there in an old steamboat going down the river. I wish I was in it and on my way home to my dear little family, Sallie & George.

I don’t think I will be very particular about my living or how my bed is made when I get home. Don’t make fun of anybody you know. Give my love to all the folks and tell them I will write as soon as I get a little more time. Here is a kiss for you and one for little Pud. Goodbye. Write as soon as you can.

My bunkmate is out on guard and I will have to sleep by myself so I will lay my head down on my knapsack thinking about my wife and little boy so very far away from their Pap. Send me all the particulars from and about home. This is from your ever loving husband.

— W. E. Fetters

To my wife, S. J. Fetters and son G. W. Fetters

Remember me while I am far, far away from home please and I will be true to you as long as I live. Sealed with a kiss, kiss, kiss, kiss. Goodbye. Give my love to that Old Quaker…

I am going to write to my sister Maggie tonight for none of them writes to me but Mother and she don’t very often. So I must wait for yours and Puds.


 

Leave a comment