1865: Augustus Geer to Sarah Hopkins

This late-war letter was written by Augustus (“Gus”) Geer who enlisted in Logan county, Ohio, at the age of 18 on 7 February 1865 in Co. G, 184th Ohio Volunteer Infantry (OVI). It appears that Gus received a substantial bounty to enlist, most likely as a substitute. Gus joined his friend, Thomas (“Tommy”) Bates, who enlisted a week earlier. The content of Gus’s letter pertains primarily to his own illness and the death of his friend Tommy who died on 5 March 1865. Both boys were hospitalized in Nashville after contracting the measles.

Thomas Bates was the son of Lewis and Ruth Thomas (Loring) Bates of Bokes Creek, Logan county, Ohio.

Gus wrote the letter to his aunt, Sarah (Lewis) Hopkins (1834-1908), the wife of William P. Hopkins (1827-1904) of Union county, Ohio.

The 184th Ohio Infantry was organized at Camp Chase in Columbus, Ohio September through October 1864 and mustered in for one year service on February 1, 1865, under the command of Colonel Henry S. Commager. The regiment left Ohio for Nashville, Tennessee, February 21; then moved to Chattanooga and to Bridgeport, Alabama, March 21. Guarded the railroad bridge over the Tennessee River at Bridgeport, and also the railroad between Bridgeport and Chattanooga, Tennessee, with frequent skirmishes with Rebel cavalry and guerrillas, March 21 through July 25. Served garrison duty at Edgefield, Tennessee, July 25 through September 20, 1865. The 184th Ohio Infantry mustered out of service September 20, 1865, at Nashville, Tennessee, and was discharged at Camp Chase on September 27, 1865—Gus among those mustering out with the regiment.

aamiltlg94
Addressed to Mrs. Sarah Hopkins, Irwin Station, Union county, Ohio

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER ONE

Hospital No. 15
Nashville, Tennessee
March 19, 1865

Dear Aunt,

I received your letter and was glad to hear from you. I hope when these few lines [arrive, they] will find you well. I am a getting along fine now. I received Milly’s letter this morning and yours about 10 o’clock.

I don’t like this river water very well. It is so warm and nasty. It ain’t fit to drink. When Tommy died, it was about 10 o’clock Sunday night about 2½ and I had the measles them. He was in another room. He catched cold on the boat and a coming here in the night at 11 o’clock we went to another hospital and then we had to foot it to this one and he catched more cold the time he died. I had the measles pretty bad. That is all I know about him.

Uncle Lewis sent a man after him. His name was Mr. Burrel. I had my hair cut pretty close today. I don’t think that I will catch cold. Tell Asa to write and Thomas Irwin. I would like to seen Marshall. I hain’t seen him for a long time. I would like to be there now, We would have some fun. I get a letter from mother pretty often. She is a going to try to get me out if she can. I got $450 for going. If mother gets me out, I will have that anyhow.

I shall have to quit for this time so goodbye from, — Augustus Geer

To his Aunt Sarah Hopkins

Write soon. Direct your letters to Co. G, 184th Regt. OVU, Nashville, Tennessee

Follow the regiment. Maybe I will be in the hospital yet.


[Editor’s Note: The following letter was written by Betsy Geer to her sister Sarah.]

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER TWO

[Nashville, Tennessee]
Wednesday Eve, March 29th [1865]

Sister Sarah,

I thought I would write a few lines and send by Harry. We are well as common. I looked for some of you out. Did you get Clarra’s letter? Tommy’s funeral was a week ago today. There was a good many out. He died the 5th of March with the measles in the hospital [at] Nashville, Tennessee. Gustus [Geer] had them at the same time. I had a letter from him last Saturday. He was getting pretty well and he had a good appetite to eat. He was very homesick after Tommy died. Said he was left alone. He was at the hospital when he wrote. The regiment left Tennessee and gone to Chattanooga. Gustus says he don’t want to go any further south. He would like to come back. There wasn’t anyone he was acquainted with but Tommy. I have worried myself almost to death about him since he left. It made me sick. I could hardly do anything for awhile.

I was in hopes you would come here this spring. I feel troubled. I couldn’t write. Sugar making is over there. Wasn’t much made. Loring ¹ was at home last week. It is lonesome here now.

I want you to ask Uncle Archa if Elnathan has paid that money in yet or not. Tell him I wish he would write to Mr. Sabins to get it as soon as he can. Benny said he wanted it. He has sold his farm and bought another up in town. Write as soon as you get this. I want to know. Don’t forget now. S. H.  Betsy Geer

Benny and I talked of going to the Plains [Plains, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania] next week if it hadn’t rained.


¹ Loring Bates Served in the Civil War with the 13th & 14th Ohio Batteries Light Artillery and then Company B, 88th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Fought at the Battle of Shiloh with the 13th Ohio Battery.

Leave a comment