1864: George Kies to Erastus Kies

Screen Shot 2020-07-09 at 7.06.04 AMThis letter was written by 33 year-old 1st Lt. George Kies of Co. K, 18th Connecticut Infantry from Richmond’s Libby Prison. Kies was captured in the Second Battle of Winchester on June 15, 1863 by Lee’s army on its march up the Shenandoah Valley when General Milroy balked at Gen. Halleck’s orders to withdraw his command to Harper’s Ferry. Milroy believed he could hold Winchester in the strong earthen fortifications his men had erected there against what he was advised by his scouts was only a small foraging party of Confederates. He was wrong.

Though Kies seemed hopeful of his exchange after 10 months confinement at Libby Prison, his ordeal was far from over. In the summer of 1864 he was moved to Macon, then Charleston, and eventually Columbia, being part of the “Immortal 600” prisoners who were used as human shields [see HistoryNet]. He was finally paroled at Camp Asylum, Columbia, South Carolina on 10 December 1864.

George Kies (1831-1872) was the son of Harrison Kies (1809-1855) and Sarah Ann Goodspeed (1806-1881) of Killingly, Windham county, Connecticut. In 1860 he was enumerated in Killingly with his wife, Fannie (Cornell) Kies (1831-1901) and three year-old son Walter. He was a carpenter by trade.

Kies wrote the letter to his younger brother, Erastus Kies (1839-1920), who in turn added a note on the reverse of George’s letter and forwarded it to an unnamed sister.

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Jim Doncaster and is published by express consent.]

TRANSCRIPTION

Libby Prison
Richmond, Virginia
April 25, 1864

Dear Brother,

In my last I told you to look for me the first of May but I think that it will be impossible for me to be there at that time as it takes so long to move the sick and they are to be sent home first, Consequently the officers will be delayed perhaps a few weeks. But we are in fine spirits as we believe the exchange is expected this time and we shall soon be delivered from our long and tedious imprisonment. Hoping I shall be with you soon, I remain as ever your affectionate brother, — George Kies

My love to all.

[Written on reverse]

Worcester, [Massachusetts]
May 7, 1864

Dear Sister,

This letter was received from George last night and [I] hasten to send it to you. It appears that he has written to me before but I did not get it for he says in his last he said he should be home the first of May. I have not received any letters stating that but we shall see him very soon.

I see by my paper today that a boat has gone to City Point with 1400 Rebels to exchange and I guess he will come back on that boat. We are looking everyday for him and hope to see you all in Worcester soon. Every your brother, — Erastus Kies

One thought on “1864: George Kies to Erastus Kies”

Leave a comment