1862: George Russell to his Parents

The cover of a song sheet entitled, “Hurrah for the 44th!”

This letter was written by George Russell (1844-1891), the son of Joseph G. Russell (1804-1893) and Catherine B. Watson (1807-1878) of Temple Square, Boston, Massachusetts. George’s father was in the furniture business, supplying the Boston elite under the name of Russell, Hennessy, & Phelps at No. 21-27 Brattle Street. . Before the Civil War, George worked as a clerk but after the war, he earned a living as a “Flour Dealer.” The family was well to do and could afford to hire domestic servants in their home in Boston’s Ward 6.

George enlisted on 29 August 1862 as a private in Co. E, 44th Massachusetts Infantry. The regiment was stationed at New Bern, North Carolina, in October 1862 and saw their first combat in the Battle of Rawl’s Mills in November 1862. In December they took part in the Goldsboro Expedition in which they were only lightly engaged in the Battles of Kinston and Goldsboro Bridge. George served with the regiment until mustering out on 18 June 1863.

Transcription

Camp Stevenson
New Berne, [North Carolina]
December 7, 1862

Dear Parents,

You are I suppose enjoying the pleasures of winter while you expect we are enjoying the warmth of the Sunny South but “I don’t see it” as it [is] as much as I can do to write this letter setting at the window of our barracks as the fireplace is crowded. The ground froze hard last night and today I should judge the thermometer stood at about 25 above.

Thanksgiving day we had a great dinner setting a table the length of the barracks and dining at the hour of two.

~ Bill of Fare ~

Roast Turkey
Chicken

~ Desert ~

Apple Raisins
Cranberry Sauce
Puddings
Plum Pudding

Which we did justice to. I had the pleasure of carving the turkey. After emptying the table, we spent about an hour in making speeches, &c. from the Captain, Lieutenants, and members—my honorable self called upon among others by the Captain by the term of Forager which name I won on our march on account of my good success of foraging. By the way, I sent by the return of the steamer Mississippi a sword captured at Hamilton by myself together with Wyeth’s gun which you can get by calling at his house opposite Mt. Auburn as they were sent direct to his father in care of the pilot.

I received your kind token of thoughtfulness on the 1st in which I see the kind care of a mother and a loving sister also of kind friends. Everything was in tip-top order and you could not have picked out more acceptable things if you had tried. Your letter No. 6 got here the day before the box but 4 & 5 together with Levian’s letter did not arrive till yesterday. The bundle for swords was duly forwarded.

An advertisement for Chapman’s Medicine appearing in the Boston Director of 1863. George’s father is identified as one of the references for the medicine.

If you send another box, I wish you would send me one set of flannels like those I had as I have lost one set on the transports, some postage stamps, needles, Chapman’s Medicine (I have used none but give it away), old rags to clean my gun, hair brush, pack of cards, package of butter as it costs 40 cents here.

We are now settled in camp—for how long, no one knows. My health was never better although some of our men are sick. I am gaining flesh, I think. I obtained by foraging two potato bags which I filled with hay, sewing them together, making a very nice bed. We spend about 7 hours a day drilling except Saturdays which we devote to washing, cleaning, &c., and Sunday morning to inspection services, &c.

You speak of my donkey. I had nearly forgotten him. I was foraging and found it hard to carry chickens, ducks, turkeys, honey, &c. on my back, so I saw to get some animal. I found a male which I devoted to this purpose but for a short time only as I gave it for the company benefit so the most disabled man in the company rode him by turns, sometimes there being two. The Captain having the power to say who it should be the rider.

I might go on and tell you of many occurrences of interest of the march but I will retain them until I see you.

We have not seen the paymaster yet and don’t know when we shall. I don’t believe you could raise $2 among the boys except what has been sent them lately.

Enclosed you will find a pass to the city of New Berne so that you see we are closely confined in camp all the time except when we get these which is about once a month.

I must close or I shall not have time to write Levian as I intend to before the mail closes. So with love to all, I remain your affectionate son, — George

Leave a comment