1863: Joseph Wesley Swihart to Lydia Swihart

How Joseph might have looked.

This letter was written by Joseph Wesley Swihart (1844-1915) of Co. I, 1st West Virginia Cavalry. [His gravestone reads, “Sweihart.”] Though he claims to have been wounded in this letter, there is no mention of it on the muster rolls.

Joseph mentions his comrade, Frank Doak, who served in the same regiment, but in Co. B. In Frank’s affidavit for a pension, he claimed to have received two gunshot wounds on 3 May 1863 at Warrenton Junction on the Alexandria and Orange Railroad. “I was on picket duty at the time and I received the two shots in my left arm while resisting a charge by the enemy.”

Joseph wrote the letter to his mother, Lydia Swihart (b. 1824), who in 1860 was enumerated among the inmates at the Poor House in McClure, Washington county, Pennsylvania.

In this letter, Joseph is referring to the “Warrenton Junction Raid” which took place on 3 May 1863. It was a surprise attack led by Mosby’s men attacked the important Union supply line. “Casualties for the detachment of the 1st (West) Virginia Cavalry, the unit surprised by Mosby, totaled 16 men. Although Mosby was forced to release most of his prisoners while escaping from the 5th New York Cavalry, he still managed to keep at least two West Virginians in captivity. Mosby lost 1 killed and at least 30 taken prisoner—many of whom were wounded.” 

“The two sides involved in this minor fight became very skilled in warfare—but were still learning those skills at that time. The Union’s 1st Virginia Cavalry, renamed 1st West Virginia Volunteer Cavalry Regiment two months later, became one of West Virginia’s most effective regiments…It fought at the Battle of Gettysburg, had an important role in eliminating the Confederate Army of the Valley, and was present at Lee’s surrender.” [Wikipeda. Warrenton Junction Raid.]

Addressed to Mrs. Lydia Swihart, Washington, Washington county, Penn.

Transcription

Camp near Fairfax Court House, Va.
May 17th 1863

Dear Mother,

I take my pen in hand to inform you that I got your kind letter last night and was glad to hear that you was well but was sorry to hear that Jim Vandyke and Joe Swihart 1 was wounded. But there is no use for me to be sorry for them for I was wounded in the shoulder the same day but it is just a flesh wound. It didn’t hit any bones and so it ain’t dangerous. I think I can get a furlough in three or four weeks more. It may be that I can come sooner but you needn’t to be uneasy about me for I am doing well.

Frank Doak was wounded in the arm at the same time but the battle wasn’t at Fairfax Court House. Where you heard that is a mistake. Where me and Doak was wounded was at Warrenton Junction on the railroad.

You must excuse my bad writing. Nothing more at present but still remain yours truly, — Joseph Swihart

to his mother, Lydia Swihart

Write soon and let me know how you are. Direct your letters as before.

1 James Vandyke and Joe Swihart served in Co. D, 140th Pennsylvania and were both wounded at the Battle of Chancellorsville in early May 1863.

Leave a comment