1863: David Thomas McConochy to William Diggs Kizer

This letter was written by David Thomas McConochy (1843-1898) of Co. H, 84th Indiana Infantry. David mustered into the regiment in August 1862 and did not muster out until 14 June 1865 as a corporal.

In the 1860 US Census, 15 year-old David was enumerated in White River, Randolph county, Indiana, as a resident of the County Poor Farm where his father, Thomas M. McConochy served as the asylum superintendent. Eli’s mother was Sarah Malin.

In 1868, David married Nancy Ellen Mongar and two years later the couple were living in Jackson, Dakota county, Nebraska.

Thomas wrote the letter to William Diggs Kizer (1847-1921), the son of Thomas W. Kizer (1824-1901) and Susannah Way (1830-1875) of Winchester, Indiana. Thomas Kizer was a merchant in Winchester, Randolph county, Indiana.


Transcription

Post Hospital
Ashland, Kentucky
January 29, 1863

Mr. William Kizer
Dear Sir,

It is with much pleasure that I sit myself down to drop you a few lines to let you know that I am about well again and I hope these few lines may find youy all well.

Your letter of the 12th came duly to hand and I was glad to hear from you.

Well, Willy, I have nothing strange to write at this time. The boys is in good spirits what is here. There are 17 of our company in the hospital now. They are about one hundred and fifty in this house at this time.

Well, I can’t write much at this time. Write soon as this comes to hand. Give my respects to the friends aound. From your friend, — David McConochy

Don’t forget to write.

Leave a comment