1863: Hiram Mason Riggs to Aaron Riggs

A young unidentified Union trooper

This letter was written by 17 year-old Hiram Mason Riggs who enlisted on 21 May 1863 at New York City to serve three years in Co. D, 13th New York Cavalry. Hiram was captured at Flint Hill, Virginia on 8 November 1863 and died of typhoid fever in a Richmond hospital on 13 February 1864.

Hiram’s mustering record indicates that he was born in Stockholm, Saint Lawrence county, New York, and that he was a farmer by occupation. It also states that he had blue eyes, light hair, light complexion, and stood over 6 feet tall. His parents were Aaron Riggs (1807-1881) and Arvilla Schellenger (1806-1881).

Hiram mentions a comrade by the name of Oliver a couple of times. This would have been Oliver B. King, age 26—the only trooper in Co. D with the name Oliver. He entered the service as a private and was promoted to corporal before transferring in August 1865 to Co. D, Third New York Provisional Cavalry.

Hiram’s letter was penned on patriotic letterhead—somewhat unusual at this late date in the war.

Transcription

Vienna, Virginia
October 23, [1863]

I have got a little spare time [so] I thought I would write a few lines to let you know that I am well and hope these few lines will find you the same. I got your letter day before yesterday and was glad to hear you was getting along with your fall work so well but was sorry to hear that you was getting discouraged about me. I don’t think much if that letter and think you was out of your mind when you wrote it. You don’t know how it makes a soldier feel to get a good, kind letter from home.

We are camped in a large orchard about 20 rods from the depot and we are [ ] of our winter quarters. I don’t know whether we shall stay here all winter or not. They have fixed up the railroad so the cars run from Alexandria up here and fetch our forage.

I wish you and Almira would send me and Oliver a box of things for it would come right here. We would like such a box as Mary sent to Jacob. We want you to send us a box of honey without fail for we are a good ways from where honey is made. The boys are all well. Bill has got back to the regiment. He has been down to Fairfax all summer so I can’t write for him. I am going to write a letter for him tomorrow.

It is wit a sad heart and trembling hand that I write the sad tidings of of one of our members [who] is laid low in the cold earth in Old Virginia. You may want to know who it is. It’s Silas Riggs. 1 He was buried yesterday. He died day before. He did not have his senses for 3 days before he died. I nor Oliver did not go and see him for we couldn’t get a pass. I expect it will come hard with his parents.

I don’t think of no more news to write this time. I have sent 2 books to Celia and if she gets them, let me know. So goodbye. Give my respects to all of my friends. Tell Jacob I will try to write him a letter tomorrow.

This from Hiram Riggs

[to] A. Riggs


1 Silas W. Riggs was only 17 years old when he enlisted on 21 May 1863 to serve three years in Co. D, 13th New York Cavalry. He died of disease on 21 October 1863 in the hospital at Fairfax Court House, Virginia.

Leave a comment