1862: Franz Trouts to his Sister

Two unidentified members of the 51st New York Infantry.

Franz (“Francis”) Trouts (1836-1863) was 25 years old when he enlisted on 23 September 1861 at New York City to serve three years in Co. C, 51st New York Infantry. He wrote this letter from Newbern, North Carolina in July 1862. Three months later, at Pleasant Valley, Maryland, he was discharged from the regiment in order that he might enlist in the 4th U. S. Artillery. He did not leave the regiment, however, until after he had participated Gen. Pope’s Campaign in August and September 1864, the fight at Sulphur Springs, and the Battles of Second Bull Run, Chantilly, and Antietam.

Upon joining Battery G (Light Artillery), 4th US Artillery, Franz participated in the battles at Fredericksburg, at Chancellorsville, and at Gettysburg. In the latter battle, Battery G was commanded by Lieutenant Bayard Wilkeson who was mortally wounded directing his battery on Barlow’s Knoll in the first day’s action (see header image of Wilkinson and Battery G). In the three days at Gettysburg, Battery G expended 1400 rounds of ammunition and had 31 horses killed.

According to the records of the 4th U. S. Artillery, Francis was “accidentally killed” on 23 August 1863 at Bristoe Station. His memorial on Find-A-Grave tells us that the family bible records his death as a drowning and that he was buried in Bristoe, Prince William, VA. The Army Surgeon’s Report indicates he died of a “concuss of brain” on 24 Aug 1863 at Catlett Station. It’s possible that he fell/jumped from the railroad bridge that crosses Cedar Run near Catlett Station.

Franz was born in Königsbach, Germany, the son of Daniel Trouts (1807-1880) and Catharine E. Stoeckle (1809-1883), and came to America with his parents in 1839. In the 1850 US Census, 14 year-old Franz was enumerated in his parents household at Nockamixon, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and already employed as a boatman.

Transcription

Camp Potter
Newbern, [North Carolina]
[July] 1862

Dear Sister,

I am well at present and I hope these few lines will find you the same. We struck our tents on the second of this month and went on board of the boat and we got as far as Hatteras and then come back here again on the 4th. We were to call at Fortress Monroe but where we were to go to from there I cannot tell. We are to leave here again tomorrow morning but where we are to go to is more than I can tell at present.

Dear sister, I received your letter and paper of the 9th of June and another letter and paper of the 17th and a letter of the 24th which I received all in due time. But dear sister, I am really sorry that you did not receive mine in time at all for I always answer your letters as soon as I get them.

I understand in your letter of the 24th that you’re going to Philadelphia but I would advise you to stay in your old place because you will find city life fifferent from what you might think. I have neither time nor paper to tell you all I have to say to you about your going to Philadelphia. Dear Sister, I am glad to hear that Tana’s sister will do something for her in Philadelphia. When you write me again, please let me know if Tana is going to take all her children along with her to the city.

Our knapsacks are aboard of the boat yet or I might write to you with pen and ink but you must excuse me this time. I think I will have news to tell you when I write to you again.

Dear Sister, I received a letter from our cousin Regina last week and I cut out the piece of the paper of the 9th that had the account of the freshet in and sent it to her in a letter. Dear sister, I hope you do not think that I am offended about you because you never wrote anything to offend me in the least. And even if you did, I could forgive you any offense be it ever so great.

I am in such a hurry that I wrote this wrong but you will see how to read it by the [page] numbers. Give my respects to Mr. Herron and family. I remain your truly affectionate brother, — Francis Trouts

Direct same as usual.

Leave a comment