1861: Charles Wilkinson to William Nelson Wilkinson

Charles’ cenotaph was erected in the North Afton Cemetery in Afton, New York. It reads: “He died at Key West in Defense of his Country’s Rights.”

This letter was written by Charles Wilkinson (1840-1862), the son of Thomas Wilkinson (18xx-1853) and Sally Crandall (1800-1871) of Ninevah, New York. Charles enlisted as a private on 12 October 1861 in Co. E, 90th New York Infantry. This regiment, known as the Hancock Guard, was recruited mainly in New York City and vicinity. They embarked for Key West, Florida, on 5 January 1862 where they performed garrison duty all year. Charles did not make it home, however. He died of disease on 9 November 1862 at Key West, Florida.

To read about the regiment’s trip to Florida, see 1862: George Washington Peck to Lyman Peck, posted on Spared & Shared 18.

Charles wrote the letter to his older brother, William Nelson Wilson (1834-1877).

Castle Williams on Governor’s Island in 1860

Transcription

Castle Williams
Governor’s Island, [New York Harbor]
December 18, 1861

Dear Brother,

I received your letter a few days since but have waited until now for the reason that I did not know where I should be, and I don’t know as we shall stay here a great while—perhaps not more than two or three days, maybe 4 weeks for all that I know. We left East New York, Long Island yesterday.

This regiment was presented with a flag and then we went over to New York and marched around the city until about dark and then took a boat and went over to Governor’s Island. We are now quartered in Castle Williams, an old fort which was commenced in 1807 and finished in 1811. We are in the most comfortable quarters that we have been in since we left Nineveh. It is as warm as any house can be. I just as leave stay here all winter as not, but in all probability we will leave here in a short time.

We have got our arms and equipments. We were promised in the beginning with Enfield Rifles but we have to put up with muskets. The papers state that we are going to Fort Pickens but I guess it is all talk and no go. I wish we could. I like to be traveling from one place to another. I think this island is the nicest place that we have been. It is a small island of about 3 or 4 hundred acres and about one mile from New York City. There is hundreds of ships anchored all round and taking everything together makes a splendid sight.

Warlike preparations are going rapidly here. There is as much as an acre of ground covered with stacks of cannon balls and lots of gun carriages. War with England seems to be inevitable unless the United States makes some apologies immediately.

I want you next Spring to plant lots of corn and raise all the grain you can for if we have war with England, and [with] the present war on our hands, there will be a large call for provisions. I will write again as soon as I find out where we are agoing to be. There is three of our boys that has got the measles. [Cornelius] Pratt is tough and hearty and I am inclined that way myself and hope that these few lines will find you all enjoying yourselves tip top. I will write again as soon as we get settled.

My love to you all and I remain your brother, — C. Wilkinson

to W. N. Wilkinson



1 Cornelius Pratt was a 23 years old when he enlisted with Charles at Nineveh in Co. E. He died of disease at Key West also, in July 1862.

Leave a comment