1862: Samuel Hendrickson to his Brother

This letter was written by private Samuel Hendrickson (1840-1864) of Co. A, 85th Pennsylvania Infantry. Samuel enlisted on 16 October 1861 and was discharged on a Surgeon’s Certificate on 16 February 1863. The company roster tells us that Samuel was from Thompsonville, Washington county, Pennsylvania, and was 21 years old when he enlisted. He died in 1864 and was buried in Center Presbyterian Cemetery in McMurray, Pennsylvania.

Samuel wrote this letter to his brother from “Fort Good Hope”—the third place of encampment made by the regiment after its arrival in Washington D. C. The encampment was located about three miles southeast of Washington and across the east branch of the Potomac. The men were encamped at this location from 2 December 1861 to 12 March 1862 during which time they were kept busy erecting fortifications, slashing timber, performing picket duty, and drilling.

Samuel wrote the letter in Washington’s Birthday but makes no mention of it even though the day was celebrated with Col. Howell reading a part of Washington’s Farewell Address and a 12-gun salute.

Transcription

Fort Good Hope 1
Washington City, D. C.
February 22, 1862

Dear Brother,

I take the present opportunity to inform you that I received your letter on the evening of the 20th which found me in good health. I had a very bad spell of sore throat for about a week. I think it was something like Diphtheria but I have got all right again. The health of our regiment is very good although the weather is very bad. It rains or snows nearly every day. We are enjoying ourselves very well. We have plenty to eat and not much to do but I expect we will have enough to do when the weather get good. But I do not care how soon it comes. I have got tired being caged up. I want to get to some action.

Our regiment is still stationed at Fort Good Hope. There is a report here that we are going to Kentucky but I do not believe one word of it. There is five regiments here now in this brigade under the command of General S. Casey. The 99th and 61st Pennsylvania Regiments passed here yesterday. They were going to Fort Miegs, about two miles from our camp. I did not learn the names of their Colonels.

We get some glorious news from the war this while back. They are ridding the rebels out very fast now in Kentucky, Tennessee and Missouri. The taking of Forts Henry and Donelson was great victories to our arms. The capture of Johnson and Buckner was good ones. Floyd managed to escape in time to save his bacon. A man that fights and runs away may live to fight another day.

I think the war will not last long now. I think the rebels will have to knock under before the first of May. It is impossible for them to hold out long. They are bound to cave in.

I am glad to hear that your singing is going on well at Thompsonville. I would like to attend it some night but I guess I will not. Do you use the thanks giving or what? We get to hear some good music here. There is a brass band in the New York 59th just close by us here. They play very nice. I never thought much of the brass bands till I came into camp. It makes good music out in the open field.

[Sergt. A.] Wils Pollock got a dispatch last night that his father was about dying. I believe I cannot think of anything more that would interest you. I will close by saying that I wish you to write soon. Nothing. — Sam Hendrickson


1 Fort Good Hope (166 yard perimeter) was better known at Fort Wagner, which housed five guns. It was located in the southeast region of the Washington Defenses.

Leave a comment