1863: Thomas Jefferson Williamson to Samson Williamson

Desertions must have been a problem at Camp Griffin; this notice appeared in the Edgefield Advertiser

This letter was written on two separate dates in February 1863 by Thomas “Jefferson” Williamson (1845-1882), a private in Co. A, 19th South Carolina Infantry (CSA). The regiment was organized during the winter of 1861-62; most of the men of Co. A coming from the Edgefield District. Jefferson enlisted on 1 February 1862 and was presumably with the regiment in the Battle of Green River Bridge at Munfordville, Kentucky, where they first saw action.

This letter was datelined from “Camp Griffin” which was located in or near Charleston, South Carolina, (where the letter was postmarked) and was most likely named for Major James Benjamin Griffin (1825-1881), a wealthy planter from the Edgefield District who served in Hampton’s Legion. “T. J. Williamson” was enumerated among the soldiers serving in Co. K, 5th South Carolina Reserves, as were Wilson Sanders and Emanuel Sanders who were mentioned in the letter. This unit served for 90 days (10 November through 10 February) during the winter of 1862-63. I don’t know if this was a temporary encampment to allow soldiers to return closer to home during the winter of 1862-63 or not. In any event, it seems clear he was not serving with the 19th S. C. at this time.

T. J. wrote the letter to his father, Samson Marion Williamson (1816-1893) who was enumerated in the 1860 US Census at Ridge (P. O.), Edgefield township, Edgefield county, South Carolina. Samson was a veteran of the Mexican-American War.

Transcription

Addressed to Mr. Samson Williamson, Ridge P. O., South Carolina

Camp Griffin
February 5, 1863

Dear Pa and Ma,

I again take pen to let you know that I am well and hoping that these few lines will find you all well. I have been looking for a letter from you and have not received one yet. I have nothing to write you. I can’t tell you when I can be there. I don’t know when. Some says that we won’t get off till the 18th of this month but I think that I will be there in a week or so. Dear Pa, you wrote to me to let you know when I [will] be there but I don’t know when to tell you to meet me. There is so much talk about it. You need not to look for me till you see me.

I want you to answer my letter back as quick as you can for I may miss your letter. If I have to stay here much longer, I should like to see a box of provisions coming up but I hope I won’t see it.

Dear Pa and Mother & sisters, I want to see you all very bad and I send howdy to you all. Be sure and write to me how my hogs is coming on. You must excuse my short, bad letter for I hadn’t time to write of [ ] but I must close. — T. J. W. to S. Williamson

A few more lines to you to let you know how the sickness is. There is some sickness here yet but not so much. The most is measles. I don’t want you to write to me till you see whether we will come home or not.


Camp Griffin
February 10th 1863

Dear Pa,

I sit myself down to write you a few lines to let you know I am well and I hope these few lines will find you all well. Dear Pa, I want you to meet me in Aiken next Monday morning. We expect to start Sunday. I have nothing to write. — T. J. Williamson to S. Williamson

Well Sam, I am fine. Samson, I want you to send this letter or word to my wife as quick as you can to let them know I am well and tell them I can’t get home and tell her I got the letters that she send to me Monday last. Emanuel Sanders is well.

Wilson Sanders to Samson Williamson

I can get from Aiken house. Tell my people they needn’t to send [ ] me. I hope these few lines find you all well. — Wilson Sanders to Samson Williamson

Leave a comment