1861-62: Mark Emery to his Family

I could not find an image of Mark but here is an early-war Ambrotype of an unidentified New Hampshire soldier (David Daily Collection)

These four letters were written by Mark Emery (1842-1862) to his parents, Mark F. Emery (1813-1870) and Sirena Silver (1815-1885) of Suncook, Merrimack county, New Hampshire. He also addressed his sister, Maria Emery (1844-1910).

Mark enlisted in Co. I, 7th New Hampshire Infantry when it was organized in December 1861 at Manchester, New Hampshire. In January 1862, the regiment was moved to New York City where they were taken by steamer to Dry Tortugas, Florida. While garrisoning Fort Jefferson, Mark became ill and died of disease on 4 June 1862.

We learn from the letters that Mark and another comrade in his company—Augustus Henry Green (1840-1865)—became best friends in the service. Augustus has added a few brief notes to Mark’s letters intended for Maria Emery. Augustus did not survive the war either. He was taken prisoner on 1 October 1864 and died at Salisbury Prison in North Carolina on 6 February 1865.

Letter 1

Addressed to Mr. Mark Emery, Suncook, New Hampshire

[Manchester, New Hampshire]
December 27, 1861

Dear Sister,

I now take this present time to let you know that I had the measles but I am getting a little better. I have got a bad cough with distress across my back and my stomach is distressed. My hand is very lame. I think that you don’t think much of me. Lewis did not come to see me while I was sick. This makes five letters that I have wrote [but] you ain’t wrote me one letter. Please write.

This regiment will go off the middle of the week. Now I want you to come down. Mother, how does that boy grow? Be sure and write as soon as you get this. So goodbye, one and all. This is from your brother, — Mark Emery

Mother and Father,

I take my pen in hand t let you know that I have been sick with fever this week. I am getting better now. I mean to get out some night and go to Candidy if I can. Tell the boys that I think of them, Maria, and Sis. I think of you. I ain’t not anymore to write so goodbye one and all. Write as soon as you get this.

[in a different hand]

December 8, 1861

Dear Maria, I seat myself to write you a letter and I wish you to answer it. [Your brother] Mark has been very sick for a week and has got fever now and is pretty lowly. Mark and I are good friends. We get along nicely. He thinks that you would make me a smart woman and I think that you would too. Now write and let me know.

The Colonel marched in our line and drilled [us]. I tell you, we looked pretty smart. Mark thinks that he can’t come home any more till he gets from the war. Now tell me, dear, what you think of it.

Mark wants you to [ ] every other day. He thinks that we shall have to go pretty soon. Now write back as soon as you can and come down. I believe I have finished my subject.

[From, — Augustus Henry Green]


Letter 2

Addressed to Mr. Mark F. Emery, Suncook, N. H.

New York
January 29, 1862

Dear Folks,

I now take my pen in hand to let you know that I am well at present and hope this will find you the same. Tell the girls to send something for me to remember them by. Tell Anne Appleton to send me something to remember her by. Next is Loraine Gool. Tell her to send me her love in a letter. Tell all of the girls to send me something to remember them by. Tell them that I will come sometime and see them.

Father, Mother, sisters and brothers, I love you all and wish you well. This is all I have to write this time so goodbye, one and all. From , Mr. Mark Emery

Dear Father,

New York
February 10, 1862

Dear Father, I now take my pen in hand to let you know that I am [well] at present and hope this will find you the same. I want you to tell Mother that I should like a piece of her [b_____] this morning. I had a little horse [ ] for my breakfast this morning. Father, I didn’t send you any money for when I get paid off again, you will see me to home if I am where I can get any

This is all that I have to write this time. So goodbye. Remember this is from Mark Emery, your one son.

[in a different hand]

New York

Dear Sir,

I now take my time to write you a letter and wish you to answer it. Mark and I have a nice time here. We lay together and lay as warm as two kittens. Mark is very foolish to spend all his money for watches and other [ ]. I told him to send home to you.

We are to leave here soon. They are getting the ship ready for us. They say that it will take us sixteen days to go to Florida. Mark is well and in good health. We have a nice time here. We go down to Washington Flat to drill every few days. Mark feels smart as a young lamb. You had ought to give him some instruction to lay up his money so that he will have something when he gets home. Mark thinks a good deal of home and so do I. But we are fasting here. We hate to go on the water but we must put it through [and] do out time.

Mark wants you to write and let him know how you get along and to write him [be]fore we leave New York.

[From, Augustus Henry Green]


Letter 3

Addressed to Miss Mariah Emery, Suncook, N. H.

Florida
March 20, 1863

Dear Sister,

I now take my pen in hand to let you know that I am well at present and hope this will find you the same. I told you that I was well but did not mean so. I have been sick five days and there is something like one hundred sick with the small pox. Tell Mother that I think of enlisting in the Regular service. I will not stay in this regiment for they don’t use us decently. We don’t have half enough to eat nor half enough to drink. This is a hard place for a man to live.

I think that I know what hard times is now. Maria, I think that I shall be to home in two months. Tell Father that I mean to be to home in time to help him do his spring work. Tell the boys that I should like to see them all. Tell Sis that I should like to see her too.

This is all that I have to write this time. So goodbye, one and all. This is from your brother, — Mr. Mark Emery


Letter 4


Fort Jefferson
[Dry Tortugas, Florida]

April 13, 1862

Dear Father,

I now take my pen in hand to answer your letter that I received and was glad to hear from you. What id you think when you did not get a letter for two months? Father, I wish that I was on mainland so that I could see something. I should like to be to home with you this summer to work with you.

Dear Mother, I now take my pen in hand to let you know that I have not forgotten you yet. Mother, I want you to get a small box and send me some maple sugar to eat. I have got a lot of shells to bring home to you. Mother this is all I have to write this time so goodbye, one and all. This is from your son, — Mark Emery

Father, you would not know me if you should see me on the road. The lice are so thick and so large that they rode me almost to death. Sometimes they will take me right up and carry me outdoors.

This is all I have to write this time so goodbye. This is from Mark Emery, your one son

Leave a comment