1862: Lovina Chronister to Jackson Potter

How Lovina might have looked

This letter was written by 17 year-old Lovina Chronister (1844-1916), the daughter of John Chronister (1819-1884) and Catharine Heichus (1822-1890) of Carroll township, York County, Pennsylvania. Lovina married Noah Schriver (1841-1909) in 1866 and settled in Mount Pleasant, Henry county, Iowa after the Civil War.

Lovina wrote the letter to 27 year-old Jackson Potter (1834-1862), the son of John Potter (1807-1880) and Mary Rishel (1813-1879) of Luthersburg, Clearfield county, Pennsylvania. Jackson enlisted on 1 October 1861 in Co. I, 84th Pennsylvania Infantry and he died on 11 July 1862 at Alexandria, Virginia.

Transcription

Carroll County Township, York County [Pennsylvania]
March 2, 1862

Dear Jackson,

It is with pleasure that I seat myself this morning to write you a few lines to let you know that I am well at present and hoping that these few lines may find you enjoying the same blessing.

I received your letter February 28th and was very glad to hear of you and to think that you have not forgotten me yet. The first letter that you went me I did not get and I suppose the letter I sent you, you did not get either. I sent you a letter I expect just about the time you left home and father answered your letter about the same time. And we were all sorry to hear that you had went to the army. Even my little sister Lydia Ann still says, “Poor Jackson,” and there is not a week passes but what your name is mentioned by some of the family. We had [heard] just about a week after you had left that you were gone. Cousin Daniel’s wife was in upon a visit and she told us that you were gone.

I must state to you we have had plenty of weddings in our neighborhood since you left here. Miss Elizabeth Wireman and her brother John are both married and a good many more young folks in our neighborhood and we have plenty of meetings and singings about here. I am goin to tend meeting in the Franklin Town Church this evening where you and I were but I have not enjoyed as much pleasure since as I did that day we was is Harrisburg together. Often times have I thought of you Jackson since we parted and I hope you will not forget me nor will not forget to answer this letter. We had all been enjoying ourselves of seeing you this spring as you had stated in your letter but we are in hopes of seeing you yet if you ever return.

I must bring my letter to a close with my sincere love to you. Will you my friend when far away,
Recall those hours I spent with thee?
When oft at evening as you stray,
Think how I wish myself with thee.

Bound is the ring that has no end, so is my love to you my friend. No more at present but write soon, — Lovina Chronister

to Mr. Jackson Potter

Father and mother and all the rest of the family sends their best respects to you.

Leave a comment