1865: Unidentified “Tom” to his Mother

This letter was written by a soldier named “Tom” who identified himself only as a member of the 23rd Army Corps. This corps was being transferred from Nashville via Washington D. C. to the Department of the South where it would take part in the capture of Fort Fisher and the seizure of Wilmington, North Carolina (not Petersburg, Virginia, as the author supposed).

It is my hunch that Tom was a member of the 28th Michigan Infantry. This regiment was organized in October 1864 and was in Nashville at the time of Hood’s attack on the city from 12 to 16 December though not engaged. After the battle they were assigned to the 23rd Army Corps and remained on duty at Nashville until January 11th 1865 when they embarked on steamers under orders to proceed to Eastport, Mississippi. But on reaching Paducah, the regiment’s destination was changed to Louisville where they arrived on January 18th. They were then ordered to proceed to Annapolis, Maryland but enroll the destination was changed to Alexandria, Virginia. They were then put on ocean transports to Morehead City, North Carolina.

[Note: This letter is from the personal collection of Jim Doncaster and is published by express consent.]

Soldier’s Rest barracks near depot in Washington City, not far from the US Capitol

Transcription

Soldier’s Rest
Washington D. C.
Wednesday, January 25th 1865 1

Dear Mother,

Having a little time to spare I will write and let you [know] where and how I am. You have doubtless received my letter written on the river and sent from Louisville. Well! we lay at Louisville two days and then went aboard the [500-foot sidewheel] steamer N[icholas] Longworth and went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where we arrived Saturday night, January 21st.

Sunday morning [January 22nd], we went aboard the cars and started East. Passed through Columbus, Ohio, and got to the river next morning [January 23rd]. Crossed on the ferry boat about four miles above Wheeling. Then took the cars on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad and came here where we arrived at 2 o’clock this morning. We are in barracks here by the depot.

This morning I got a pass from the Lieutenant and started to see the sights. Had been out about half an hour when I was picked up “by the Patrol Guard and put in the Guard House! all because my pass was written with a pencil! I was detained about three hours and then released. I shall try it again in the morning if we don’t have to leave here.

I don’t know where we are going yet. I expect to Petersburg. I have not heard from you since the 1st. As I said in my last, the money & tobacco were received all right and I assure you I needed both! Many thanks for them.

Please write me soon and often and ask Em and Susie to do so. My health is very good. Rations plenty! The weather here is very cold. The ground covered with snow & ice. I can think of nothing more that would be of interest so will close by wishing this may find you all as well as it leaves.

Yours affectionate son, — Tom

Give love to all.

Address Headquarters 23rd Army Corps, via Washington D. C. in haste.

1 It’s curious that the author does not mention the major fire that broke out in the Smithsonian Building on the night of 24 January 1865 which destroyed a major portion of the building and some of its precious collections. Many soldiers in Washington at the time wrote of it in their letters.

Leave a comment