1864: Charles Leland Fales to Adelaide (Fales) Adams

I could not find an image of Charles but here’s a tintype of Sgt. Sewell L. Hodgdon who also served in the 16th Massachusetts Infantry. Sewell was in Co. H and was wounded in the Battle of Chancellorsville.

The following letters were written by Charles Leland Fales (1843-1902) of Sherborn, Massachusetts, who enlisted at Cambridge in July 1861 to serve in Co. B, 16th Massachusetts Infantry. His muster records indicate that he stood 5 feet 8.25 inches tall, had dark eyes, light hair, and had worked previous to his enlistment as a clerk. When he reenlisted as a veteran he was placed in Co. E, 11th Massachusetts.

Charles was with his regiment in the fight at 2nd Bull Run where he was taken prisoner on 29 August and held in captivity until mid December 1862. He returned to his regiment where he served until sometime late in 1863 when he was detached on Provost Guard duty at the Headquarters of the 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps. He reenlisted as a veteran in January 1864 while at Brandy Station, Virginia, and went home on veteran’s furlough not long after writing this letter in March. On 12 April 1864, he was relieved from duty as Provost Guard and returned to his regiment for the remainder of his service.

Charles was the son of John Smith Fales (1800-1861) and Charlotte Leland (1807-1850)—both deceased before Charles enlisted. After the war, Charles returned to Sherborn where he married Abbie Caroline Fales (1844-1934).

Letter 1

Headquarters 2nd Division
3rd Corps, Army of the Potomac
Campground near Brandy Station, VA

March 20th ’64

Dear Sister, 

I was very happy to receive a letter from you last evening and as I am not on duty today I will improve the time in writing you a few lines. It is a beautiful Sabbath morning and everything is quiet in and around camp. We are having very fine weather and if it continues long, we shall be on the move I am afraid.

Day before yesterday the camp was thrown into a state of excitement occasioned by the rebels trying to come over the Rapidan River. The Division was ordered under arms but the order to move was countermanded at dark and everything has been quiet since. The rebels only wanted to know whether we were here or not and they soon found out. Those that went home on furlough last from our Regt., their time will be out this week and so you can look for me next week for I am only waiting for them to come back.

I feel bad about [brother] John 1 and I have not heard a word from him—only what you and George wrote. I have wrote him several letters lately but I directed them to his battery and so I suppose he did not get them. I would willingly wait another month for my furlough if I could see him when at home.

Tell George I received his letter and answered it some days ago and I suppose he has got it before now. Also, I wrote one to you which you had not received when you wrote your last. I hope you have it by this time. I guess I can get you some flowers to bring home. The spring daffys are all in blossom here now. I took a walk towards Pony Mountain the other day and just at the foot of the mountain there is the ruins of a once splendid mansion. It was burnt some time ago but the garden is laid out in walks and the flowers are springing up amid the grass and weeds. I think I can get some rose bushes there though I did not take particular notice at the time. But if you intend to have a garden of flowers this summer I should be happy to get some roots or anything you want to put in it.

I will not write a long letter this time as I expect to see you soon. Give my love to George and all your family and believe me as ever, your affectionate brother, — Charles L. Fales

Excuse this writing as my paper is not ruled.

1 John Fales (1841-1918) enlisted on Apr. 17, 1861. Regular Army 3rd LA Batty, Co. E Light Artillery Battery. Mustered out on Apr. 17, 1864 at Hilton Head, SC. Enlisted on Jul. 16, 1864. Co. E, MA 60th Infantry Regiment. Mustered in July 23, 1864. Mustered out on Nov. 30, 1864 at Indianapolis, IN. Enlisted on Jan.11, 1865. Regular Army 3rd LA Batty Co.K Light Artillery Battery. Promoted to Full Corporal on Mar. 1, 1867. Mustered out on Jan. 13, 1868 at Fort Warren, MA. 


Letter 2

Camp of the 11th Massachusetts Vols.
near Petersburg, Va.
November 21st 1864

Dear Sister Ada,

Your most kind and welcome letter was received last night dated November 15th. Was pleased to learn that you and yours are all well. I hope that your family may always be blessed with good health. As for me, I am as ever in the best of health though I had just been relieved from picket when I received your letter and such picket duty as would kill a common soldier. It rained incessantly the whole twenty-four hours that I was out. We had no shelter and besides, we had to be on the alert for the rebels are within a stones throw of us and we expected they were going to attack us for we could plainly see them moving to the right, and the night being dark and rainy, we could not be too vigilant.

I was placed on a post with four men and had orders not to allow any man to sleep. Of course I could not close my eyes for if I went to sleep, the rest would soon follow suit so we kept firing at the rebels all night till daylight. Then such a [sorry] looking set of men you never saw. The powder together with the rain had begrimed us up so that we were blacker than Old Prin Green ever thought of being, wet through to the hide with no fire. And to crown the whole, it was Sunday morning.

Well, thinks I, I wonder what folks would think of me at home if they should meet me going to meeting. It would give them a little idea of what we have to go through out here. But when I got back to my tent at night after I was relieved, Charlie D. had a good fire and a hot cup of coffee for me and some fried hard tack. This I soon devoured and lay down to rest. Soon the mail came and with it a letter from home. All hardships were forgotten till it was read. The money was all right. It came just in time for I had borrowed some paper and envelopes of Charlie to write on for awhile but now I am alright till pay day. Charlie Daniels wanted a copy of the verses of James and so I let him copy them. I will copy them off and return the paper as you wished.

I should think that George could get a good place to learn a trade now. Hope he will try. I was much surprised to hear of Mr. Hunt’s death. I can hardly believe that it is really so. Mrs. Hunt must feel bad. Andrew and Thomas, I suppose, are at home and will carry on the place. I presume that John is at home now. Wish I could be there about the time this letter reaches you. But never mind, I will be there some time if my life is spared and I shall enjoy it all the more after being separated so long from all the enjoyments and comforts of home. I yet believe that this war will end within the coming year.

It is this firm believe which makes me put up with the trials and hardships of camp life. So you may count on my spending Thanksgiving Day in 1865 at home if I am alive. And it will truly be a day of thanksgiving to me if the war is over. Yes, it will be the happiest day of my life when I return home at the close of this fearful war. So trusting to Providence, I go forth determined to do my duty in this just cause of right and freedom, hoping that all will be well.

But it rains so hard that the water is coming through my tent and I must close, hoping that you will write often. I will do the same. My love to all and believe me as ever your affectionate brother, — Corporal C. L. Fales, 11th Battalion Mass. Veteran Volunteers, Co. E, 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 2nd Corps, Washington D. C.

P. S. Please omit Capt. Nutting’s name on my letter as he has gone home discharged. — Charlie

Leave a comment