1862: George Wesley Wixon to Cousin Lu

Alvah Wixon was George’s father who also served in the 4th New York Heavy Artillery until he was wounded at Petersburg on 18 June 1864 and lost an arm.

This letter was written by George Wesley Wixon (1841-1922) of Co. A, 4th New York Infantry. George enlisted on 2 September 1861 to serve three years. He mustered out of the service as a corporal near Petersburg, Virginia, on 29 September 1864. In August 1863 he was detached from his regiment serving on General Tyler’s Headquarters Staff as a clerk at Alexandria, Virginia.

Serving in the same regiment with George was his father, Alvah Wixon (1817-1892) who was wounded at Petersburg on 18 June 1864 and lost an arm. Alvah was a miller in Putnam county, New York, prior to his enlistment in February 1864.

In the 1860 US Census, George was enumerated in the household of Francis E. Foster, a merchant in Lake Mahopac, Putnam county, New York. He appears to have been working as a clerk there.

In this letter to his cousin, George describes leaving the 22nd Army Corps in Washington D. C. and the reassignment to 2nd Army Corps to be used as infantrymen during the Overland Campaign in 1864. The regiment participated in the fighting at the Wilderness, Spotsylvania Court House, Cold Harbor and Petersburg.

[Acknowledgement: My thanks to Ann Melichar for providing me with a first draft on this transcription]

Transcription

Company A, 4th New York Heavy Artillery
6 inches in the mud near Culpeper, Va.
April 8, 1864

Cousin Lu,

Your kind letter of the 27th of March came to hand through mail the 28th inst. and as an opportunity for responding presents itself, I gladly accept and acknowledge its receipt. March 25th, my regiment received orders to march and report to the 2nd Army Corps, Army of the Potomac. 27th, the regiment marched to Alexandria, a distance of thirteen miles. I joined my regiment at Alexandria 3 o’clock P. M., [and] at 4:30 P. M. we took the cars and arrived at Brandy Station 9:15 P. M. much fatigued and encamped on the wet ground all night. Monday 10:30 A. M. we again took up the march and encamped four miles from Brandy Station. Tuesday it rained all day and our shelter tents afforded but slight protection to us from the storm. We slept in the mud all night. It continued to rain until well midday 5 P. M. Thursday, 5 P. M. had dress parade in the mud to hear orders read.

“No person could insult me sooner than to ask me to reenlist. I would as soon die as to serve one year more in the army and if God spares my life to live five months and twenty days longer, I shall be free.”

—George Wesley Wixon, 4th N. Y. Heavy Artillery

April 1st at roll call 5:30 A. M., received orders to pack up and at 9:30 we took up the march. After marching eight miles through mud and rain we arrived at our present camp with the 2nd Army Corps. Many were so much fatigued they did not put up their tents but slept in the mud and rain. During the night it continued to rain until Thursday the 7th. All this time we have been wet to the skin and slept in wet blankets. No person could insult me sooner than to ask me to reenlist. I would as soon die as to serve one year more in the army and if God spares my life to live five months and twenty days longer, I shall be free.

I hope I have not got a fickle mind like some when I say a thing must be so, “So it shall be.” All that have reenlisted repent dearly when three years stare them in the face. Father endures it better than I expected and he said to me today he was glad I did not reenlist as he desired. I am pleased to learn that Vic’s health is improving and hope she may soon regain it fully. I have not heard from Em since February 2nd and presume shall not hear from her again by letter.

I see Eneaz most every day. He looks well and tough. We shall remain in our present camp until the army moves. Then we shall march again. It is the general opinion that we are to act as infantry. I hope not. It will be against the wish of the whole regiment. We number at present two thousand and four hundred (2400)—the largest regiment in the field.

I am so disgusted with soldiering I care but a trifle what transpires—only that I survive the coming few months. I think the persons who trouble themselves about our correspondence had better employ their time with their own business. I should detest such neighbors and should shun their company at all times. I think it an impudent piece of business and should desire to meet the parties just once. I think a reformation would take place in regard to our affairs by accommodations for writing is not very desirable. My desk at present is a stump and from where I sit with a field glass, I can see the Rebel fortifications across the Rapidan. I wish all the niggers and Rebels were at the bottom of the Rapidan and so dead they never could arise.

Present my kind regards to all enquiring relatives. I am somewhat down with a heavy cold from past exposure. Please write soon & believe me your affectionate cousin, — George W. Nixon

Address Washington D. C., Battery A, 4th New York Heavy Artillery, Army of the Potomac

[Note: The following postscript would have accompanied a letter written in the summer of 1863]

P. S. Private

Cousin Lu,

When I sent you your Father’s letter, I completely neglected to take a copy of his address. When you write, please enclose his address. I have not heard from him yet and intend to write to him for I think he has not received my last. I have not heard from Em by letter since the 27th of May. I presume she cannot leave Geo. Smally long enough. It may be all right, Lu, but if Geo. Smalley gets Em, he will not live long.

I am confident you perused my correspondence with Em and know some of the circumstances connected with the matter. It is all right if you have for you  know partially the sentiments I propose in my letters to Em. If things remain with us when I come home as they do now, I shall never visit her neighborhood under any circumstances whatsoever. Serpents have coiled amid the flowers of many an Eden and made the bright flowers at last so dark as Hades.

I should be pleased to receive any information writing of note from you in regard to the personal feeling of Em towards me and you may rest assured that it will be entirely and absolutely confidential. You stated in your letter that she intended to write soon. I have not received a communicate from her yet. I presume she cannot answer as I desired “positively in the negative or affirmative,” and intends to let it remain thinking I may write again. When I do, it will be when I say farewell for the other world. Rest assured  that I shall always regard you a true friend if all others skedaddle. I shall send you my photograph as soon as I can get them if you desire it. I am Clerk on Genl. Tyler’s Staff Headquarters at Arlington, Va. I shall remain here all summer. 

Direct: Washington, D.C. , Company A, 4th N.Y. Heavy Artillery

Send me your P. O. address

Leave a comment