1863-65: George Mahaffey Letters

Lt. George Mahaffy of Co. I, 25th USCT (LOC)

The following letters were written by George Mahaffey (b. 1844), the son of James Mahaffey and Margaret Galbreath of County Donegal, Ireland. George emigrated to the United States in May 1849 on board the ship Chieftain with his parents and siblings. The family settled in Pittsburg, establishing their citizenship in the 1850s. Most of George’s letters were written to his older brother James Mahaffey (1832-1913).

George was commissioned a 1st Lieutenant in Co. I, 25th United States Colored Troops (USCT) on 16 March 1864 and mustered out at the same rank on 6 December 1865. According to muster rolls of the 25th USCT, George originally enlisted in the 13th New Hampshire Infantry at Brookfield, New Hampshire on 25 August 1862. I cannot find any evidence to support this claim, however, and believe it to be an error. I have not yet discovered with whom George served when he wrote the letters from late 1863.

The right wing of the 25th USCT left Philadelphia March 15th, 1864 and was assigned to garrison duty at Beaufort, N. C., later joining the left wing at New Orleans. In October, the command was sent to Pensacola, Fla., in which state it was garrisoned at Forts Pickens and Barrancas to the conclusion of its service, December 6th, I865.

Letter 1

Camp Cross
August 7, 1863

James Mahaffey
Dear Brother, 

Yours of the 3rd came to hand and was glad to hear that you were all well. I have had as good health as ever I had in my life since I came here and I think camp life agrees with me wonderfully. I am glad to hear that Gally is coming home, if he does. I think, if he comes home, I think I can get a pass for to go down to see him. I am glad that you got out of the draft without paying anything. 

Pvt. Bayard Sodon served in Co. G, 25th USCT

There is nothing of importance going on here at present. I received a letter from Tom Hunter and answered it yesterday. You said in your last letter that you had sent me some papers. Up to this date, I have received  nothing in the paper line except one Dispatch which I got yesterday. 

As I have nothing of importance to write, I close by subscribing myself your affectionate brother,—Geo. Mahaffey

P. S. Write soon Lieut. White is well and sends  his compliments. — G. M. 


Letter 2

Camp  Cross
August 29 1863

James Mahaffey
Dear Brother, 

I take this opportunity of informing you that I am still [in a] flourishing condition and doing quite well in this encampment. We had  orders to go to West Virginia but the order was countermanded and we have not had the opportunity of marching as yet but we will change our camp in a few days. I think we will go about 14 miles from this place to somewhere in the vicinity of Union Town, Pa.

There is nothing of importance going on here at present and, in fact, nothing that would interest you to hear. There is a brother of James Thompson of Co. C, 9th Pennsylvania, in our Battalion and I assure you he is a fine fellow. If his brother was as good a man as he is, he was a credit to his company. I am having a first rate time running around this country and I tell you, shoulder straps make the girls stick to them like brick dust to a bar of soap and, of course, the shoulder straps do not object. Having nothing more to say to you, I close by subscribing myself, Your affectionate brother, — George Mahaffey 


Letter 3

Camp near Uniontown, [Fayette county] Pennsylvania
Nov. 26, 1863

Dear Brother, 

Yours of the 24th came to hand last evening and I was glad to hear from you. I am enjoying good health and hope these few lines may find you enjoying the same blessing. There is nothing of importance going on here at present. There has been nothing definite done as yet with regard to the three years’ service. The colonel went to Pittsburg yesterday to make the final arrangements concerning it and I think all things will work out right.

Since I wrote to you, I had a letter from Gally. He wrote from Kelly’s Ford and when he wrote, he was in good health. I received a letter from Tom Hunter this morning. Lieut. White sends his best respects. Tell Mrs. White that he is quite well. Give my kind regards to all enquiring friends. Nothing more at present but remaining your affectionate brother, — George Mahaffey


Telegraph Message dated 25 February 1864


Letter 4

Headquarters 1st Brigade
Barrancas [Florida]
September 7, 1864

My Dear Mother,

I am not in the most agreeable humor on account of your not writing to me but I can scarcely find fault as I must confess that I have been delinquent on my part as well but I hope you will pardon me and I assure you I will write oftener in future. I am in my usual good health and am contented as anyone could be expected to be under the circumstances. I am inclined to the opinion that I was born under one of the lucky stars. My usual good fortune has followed me even to this warm portion of the world. But perhaps you would like to know what good luck I have fallen this time.

Well mother, I am Acting Assistant Adjutant General of the 1st Brigade. The position is one much sought for by officers of the line for various reasons. One of those reasons is the benefit of having a good horse to ride in this country where in walking one sinks more than ankle deep in the sand and in fact, I could mention any number of good reasons for wishing to hold the position.

The news in this country is of no consequence and I will not tire you by writing of it. Things move on in the usual manner and I can assure you it is quiet and dull enough. For my part, I am busy enough and as natural consequence contented between attending to the business connected with my office and writing numerous letters to all of you at home, I find enough to occupy my attention. I must say, however, that the friends at home are not particularly prompt in replying to my letters—that is, with a couple of exceptions—and in consequence of this want of promptness, I don’t receive near the number of letters I send. I will certainly expect a reply to this within a reasonable length of time.

Give my love to Aunt and Uncle and all the cousins. Hoping to hear from you soon, I close by subscribing myself your affectionate son, — Geo. Mahoffey

To Mrs. Margaret Mahaffey


Letter 5

Headquarters 1st Brigade
Barrancas
September 30, 1864

Dear Brother James,

I am at leisure this morning and I will write you a few lines to inform you how I am prospering in the Sunny South. I am as usual in good health and buoyant spirits—things which are worth possessing in this monotonous humdrum portion of the earth. There is some chance for a more lively time, however, as General Granger proposes making this a base of operations against the surrounding country. If he does this, he will concentrate quite an army at this place which will make things more agreeable. Good news continues to come in from the North and West and we are quite hopeful of the capture of Richmond at an early day. With that in possession of our forces, I am inclined to think the Confederacy would want to emigrate to the Kingdom of Ashantee in Africa or some other salubrious climate where they could luxuriate in the calm delights of their peculiar institution. When they do emigrate, the Copperheads and Peace Democrats ought to go with them for they are too contemptible to live in any decent country.

Lieut. Campbell is in a flourishing condition and sends his best respects. I received a batch of papers and a magazine this morning for which accept my thanks. Give my love to Mother and the balance of the family. My kind regards to all enquiring friends. As I have nothing more to write, I close by subscribing myself your affectionate brother, — Geo Mahaffey

To James Mahaffey


Letter 6

Headquarters 1st Brigade
Barrancas, Florida
[late] October [1864]

Dear Brother James,

Yours of the 13th inst. came to hand this morning and I hasten to reply. The postage stamps came all right. The package has not yet arrived but I think it will come from New Orleans at least one week before papers of the same date. I am very thankful for the prompt manner in which you filled the request I made. Another thing, Jim, which I must thank you for is the supply of papers you send me. I get more papers than any five officers in the regiment. You don’t know how a fellow appreciates them in this God-forsaken country. They are worth ten times as much to me down here as they are to anyone at the North and the receipt of them always brings the pleasing anxiousness that I am not forgotten by the folks at home. I suppose that by the time this reaches you the greenbacks which I sent will be in your possession. Deduct the amount you expended for me from that and balance the account. I hope to be able to send you small packages of greenbacks once every four months.

I am as usual in good health and spirits—as contented as there is any use of being.

Everything is quiet and tranquil. Nothing of importance going. We will look anxiously for news from the election as soon as it comes off and from what you write, I think there will be some loud cheering some when we hear the result. Abraham and Andrew are the men to win and if I can’t vote, I can bid them God speed.

Give my love to Mother and all the family. Best respects to all who may ask for me. Lieut. Campbell sends his kind regards. Hoping this may find you in good health, believe me to remain your affectionate brother, — Geo. Mahaffey

To James Mahaffey

P. S. Tell Gally to send me some papers with Artemus Ward’s letters in them.

N. B. Who is George Duncan married to?


Letter 7

Headquarters 1st Brigade
Barrancas, Florida
January 14th 1865

Dear Brother James,

Yours of December 14th and 24th came to hand last evening and were the most welcome messengers I have had for the past month. The draft for $27.00 was all right and tight, and I was much pleased to receive it as they inform us with the greatest mildness that we cannot be paid until the venerable Congress at Washington make additional appropriations. This information is anything but cheering and we receive it with silent respect, for the gentleman at the head of the financial bureau at Washington.

The news from Sherman’s Army is of the best kind imaginable and everything appears to point to the early overthrow of the Rebels. They appear to have lost their usual energy and dash and have every appearance of being ready to fall into the last ditch but don’t seem to have the cursed thing dug. From the Mobile & Montgomery papers received at this place, we get considerable insight to their mode of conscripting and I think some of the men at the North who grumble so much about the draft would cool down and cease to grumble if they could examine the Confederate style of conscripting.

During the recent raid in this country, we did not encounter a white man under sixty who was not in the Rebel army. They have drained the whole country of able bodied men and then organized the cradle and the grave into home guards, or as they term, “state reserves.” How would our valued friend of the Pittsburg Post like that kind of thing.

The latest New Orleans papers contain an account of a raid through Mississippi under command of General Davidson. The accounts are so mudded up that they contain nothing satisfactory. Mobile will probably fall before spring and then the Gulf Coast will be pretty thoroughly cleaned of the Johnnies. Give my love to Mother and all the balance of the family.

Hoping this may find you in good health, believe me to remain your affectionate brother, — Geo. Mahaffey

P. S. Send me a couple of dollars worth of postage stamps.


Letter 8

Headquarters 1st Brigade, 1st Division USCT
Blakely, Alabama
April 15, 1865

Mr. James Patterson
Dear Friend,

As I am at leisure this evening, I am going to improve the time in writing you a few lines although to tell the truth I don’t think you deserve being written to after remaining silent for nearly four months. I tell you, my old chap, there ain’t any use in being mad at a poor devil of a soldier when he fails to answer your letters with promptness for you must think of the many things a chap in my place has to attend to, what with making reports of every devilish little occurrence and the regular periodical return required, a man has no time to write to his friends.

James will inform you of the facts in connection with the late battle and all the news and the only thing more than is contained in his letter is this: Gen. [William A.] Pile in making his report of the Battle used the following language: “My staff performed their respective duties promptly, faithfully and fearlessly,” so my boy, I came through with credit. I am all right. The slight that I received doing me no serious hurt.

Hoping this may find you all right. Believe me to remain yours truly, — Geo. Mahaffey


Letter 9

Headquarters Post Apalachicola
August 22, 1865

Dear Brother,

I am well and hearty. Everything dull and quiet. Nothing going on worth writing to you about. Mail arrived this morning. Nothing for me. Friends at home must be either dead or have forgot all about me. Why the devil don’t you write and let a poor cuss know what is going on. Unless you intend to correspondence more attentively in future, I will cease writing.

Love to all the family and hope to hear something from them soon. Your brother, — Geo. Mahaffey, AAAG


Letter 10

Headquarters U. S. Forces
Apalachicola, Florida
August 26th 1865

Dear Brother James,

Yours of June 14th and 20th, and July 20th came to hand this morning. There is nothing transpiring in this city that would be of any interest to write about and consequently I am not going to try the onerous task.

I am profoundly sorry to hear of the continued illness by Mrs. Patterson but earnestly hope that by the time this reaches you she may be restored once more to good health.

Your announcement of the marriage od Miss Aggie Stewart somewhat surprised me. What I think of the matter remains for me to inform when I am fortunate enough to get a leave of absence. I will merely say the world is a strange institution, but not nearly so strange as the inhabitants.

I am in my usual rosy good health and quite contented with the world in general and the Colonel commanding in particular. I have been busy all the morning hearing the twaddle of a couple of fellows who claim some property now occupied by the military authorities and feel in anything but a good humor.

he health of the troops is comparatively good but up in the North they would call their health bad. Down in this country we naturally look upon disease as a fixture and don’t dread it so much as the people at the North.

Convey my love to mother and all the family and believe me to remain your affectionate brother, — Geo. Mahaffey, AAAG


Letter 11

Headquarters Post of Apalachicola, Fla.
Office of the Provost Marshal
September 17th 1865

Dear Brother James,

The renowned city of Apalachicola rests and worships this quiet Sunday and as a matter of course, I am at leisure. There is nothing transpiring in the country that would interest you. In fact, there is nothing going on in the world interest anyone, and I am consequently very much at loss for anything to write about.

I have been relieved from duty as A.A. A. G. and I am not near so much crowded with work as when I had that and the Provost Marshal duties both to perform. At present I am busy a good portion of my time administering the oast of amnesty to the residents of the city and the country surrounding. They crowd in and take it with the greatest of pleasure being thankful to escape without punishment for their crimes.

The inhabitants of this country can hardly bring themselves to understand the true position of the colored race. They don’t seem to see how they can be permitted to testify under oath and have their testimony received. I think they will soon come to a realizing sense of the matter however.

I am expecting to be ordered to Tallahassee for duty in General Newton’s Headquarters. In case I go there, I will telegraph to you and give you my address.

I am anxiously looking for the arrival of the Pay master as I am short of funds and as Uncle Samuel owes me about $900, I am wanting the dust. When I am paid, I will send you $500 to lay away for me.

I am in my usual good health and spirits and having a pleasant time now that the weather has moderated a little, Give my love to Mother and all the family. Kind regards to all enquiring friends. Hoping to hear from you soon, I remain your affectionate brother, — Geo. Mchaffey

Address:

Lieut. Geo. Mchaffey
25th US Colored Infantry
Provost Marshal
Apalachicola, Fla.

Leave a comment