1862-65: John Stockett Button, 5th Maryland Infantry

These letters were written by John Stockett Button (1840-1880), the son of John Button (1802-1841) and Sarah Jane Wells (1809-1885) of Annapolis, Arundel county, Maryland. Mentioned throughout the letters are siblings, Georgeanna Button (1826-1915) who was married to 2d Lt. “William” Henry Irving (1823-1871)—William served with John in the 5th Maryland Infantry; “Sarah” Jane Button (1829-1908), the wife of “Louis” H. Rein (1836-1914)—a German-born clothing store owner in Annapolis; Elijah Button (1831-1917) and his wife “Lizzy” Phelps (1837-1899); Emory Button (1837-1905) and his wife Elizabeth Ann Haupt (1841-1925); and younger sisters Sophia, Isabella and Julia.

The drum carried by Mathias Lowman of Co. I, 5th Maryland Infantry

The 5th Regiment Infantry was organized at Baltimore, Md., September, 1861 and served at camp at LaFayette Square, Baltimore, Md., until March, 1862. Ordered to Fortress Monroe, Va., March 11, 1862. Duty there and at Suffolk, Va., to September, 1862. Moved to Washington, D. C., thence to Antietam, Md., September 8-16. Battle of Antietam, Md., September 16-17. Moved to Harper’s Ferry September 22 and duty there until January, 1863. Reconnaissance to Charleston October 16-17. At Point of Rocks and Maryland Heights protecting Baltimore & Ohio Railroad until June, 1863. Moved to Winchester, Va., June 2. Battle of Winchester June 13-15; mostly captured; those not captured at Bloody Run, Pa., and Loudon, Pa., until July. Duty in the Defenses of Baltimore, Middle Department, until January, 1864, and in the District of Delaware, Middle Department, until June, 1864. Ordered to Join Army of the Potomac in the field June 4, 1864. Siege operations against Petersburg and Richmond, Va., June 16, 1864, to April 2, 1865. Mine Explosion, Petersburg, July 30, 1864 (Reserve). Duty in trenches before Petersburg until September 27. Battle of Chaffin’s Farm, New Market Heights, September 28-30. Battle of Fair Oaks October 27-28. Duty in trenches before Richmond until April, 1865. Occupation of Richmond April 3. Pursuit of Lee to Appomattox Court House April 3-9. Appomattox Court House April 9. Surrender of Lee and his army. Duty in the Dept. of Virginia until September, 1865.

Union encampment just outside of Baltimore, Maryland

Letter 1

Camp Hoffman [at Lafayette Square]
Baltimore, [Maryland]
February 26th 1862

Dear Mother,

Patriotic stationery used by John S. Button to write his widowed mother in February 1862

I take my pen in hand to write you a few lines to inform you that I am well and hope this will find you the same. I have not been to Annapolis since November. I was going down Christmas but was not well enough and there has been an order issued prohibiting any more furloughs on account of the foreward movements of our Army.

We now occupy comfortable houses built for us during the winter. We had a glorious celebration on Saturday in honor of the birth of Washington and the grand victories of our grand Army and Navy, the news of which I presume you have heard. There was about 7,000 soldiers in the line with the gallant Major General John A. Dix and staff at our head. We then paraded through the city amid the waving of flags and handkerchiefs over our head by the Ladies. After this, ours (the 5th Maryland Volunteers) marched to the Maryland Institute where we was presented with two handsome silk flags—one by the Union Ladies, the other by the Hon. Henry W. Hoffman, Collector of the Port.

Louis came to see me on Tuesday last. He brought me some things to use, among them shirt, pen, ink, paper, envelopes, looking glass, and comb. I think he is very kind to me. Sarah came to see me today, She is well and hearty. All are well at home and send their love to you all.

There are a great many sudden deaths in Annapolis. Joseph Barber died very sudden sometime since. Joshua Brown’s son John dropped dead last week. Mary Hutton died sudden and old Mr. Schwane dropped dead this morning.

I must now come to a close. There is nothing more worth my writing to you. Write to me soon and often for I cannot find time to write to you as often as I wish. Give my love to all and a share for yourself.

I remain your affectionate son, — John S. Button, Co. B, 5th Maryland Volunteers


Letter 2

Camp Hamilton near Fortress Monroe, Letterhead of John S. Button’s Letter

Camp Butler
Newport News, Virginia
April 20th 1862

Dear Mother,

I take this opportunity to write to you to let you know that I am well and hope this will find you the same. I wrote to you some time since but have received no answer yet, and I do not know what to make of it, whether you are sick, or moving to Annapolis again. If you should receive this letter, answer it immediately as I want to hear from you to know where you are so that I can send you some money. I signed the State Payroll last week which amounts to one dollar a week which is a small amount, but amounts up in the course of a year. I have signed it in your favor and you will tell Elijah to see to it for you. The first payment will occur next month. He must write to George Taylor and find out the Committee that has the paying of it.

The picture at the head of this represents Camp Hamilton which is about three miles from our camp. You must keep all these pictures that I send you so that if I should live to get home alive, I can explain all the incidents of the war.

N. B. Since I commenced this I received yours of the 17th of April and I don’t know when I received a more welcome letter in my life, but I was struck at hearing of Grandmother’s illness. I don’t know what to think of my relatives at Annapolis. They do not write to me at all. I have written four letters to Annapolis but get no answers from them. I have just been informed by one of our officers that Col. John Walton is the man that pays the State money to the soldiers’ parents. The payment commences from the time of my enlistment which amounts to 24 dollars to the first of April. I enlisted on the first day of October which makes it six months on the first of April. You can get the money as soon as you go to Annapolis and apply to Col. Walton for it.

Enclosed you will find five dollars which I willingly give to you. I have to keep some by me as I do not know what might happen before we are paid again. I also send you some of my hair which you requested of me. It is not so good a lock as I wish it to be owing to the shortness that I have kept it since I have been in the Army. Also a picture representing the last shot fired by the Cumberland as she went down.

This engraving from one of the Illustrated newspapers was entitled, “Last Shot fired from the Cumberland as she went down.”

William got a letter from Baltimore today and they are all well and send their love to you. I notice that you left Company B out of your direction this time. You must be particular about it hereafter for I may never get your letters for some weeks if I get them at all.

I must now close for the want of something worth relating. Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Write immediately after you get this. I remain your affectionate son until death, — John S. Button

Co. B, 5th Regt. Maryland Vols., Newport News, Va. or elsewhere.

P. S. You spoke in your letter that there was a great battle expected at Yorktown. There has been hard fighting there for several days but you need not be uneasy about us for they have enough without us. Besides, we have to hold this important place. William sends his love to you and says he is in good spirits but would like to see his family. Keep up a good heart and spirits. Goodbye, — J. S. B.


Letter 3

Camp Butler
Newport News, Virginia
April 28, 1862

Dear Mother,

I have just received your eagerly looked-for letter and seat myself to answer it, informing you that it found us all well and in good spirits, and I hope this will find you the same.

I feel very much relieved to know that you received the $5 that I sent to you. In sending it, I did not myself but only wish that I could have sent you more. It pains me very much to hear that you feel so uneasy about us for it is as healthy here as it is at any place and if we are called upon to battle the enemy and fall in the attempt to restore our flag and country as it was handed down to us by our ancestors, and blot out the stains put upon it by the foul hands of traitors, we have the consolation and honor to know that we fall in a just and righteous cause—for our country is as sacred as our lives and we should not hesitate to rally in its defense, let the consequences be what may. But cheer up and keep a good heart for I hope that the day is not far distant when we shall all assemble to our once more quiet homes to be disturbed no more by ruffians and traitors.

I received a letter from Georgeanna. They are all well and send their love to you all. William wrote a letter to you the day after I wrote my last, but you make no mention of it in yours. Perhaps you did not receive it in time as there was no boat from Baltimore the day he mailed it. If you have not answered it when you get this, do so as soon as you can.

I am gratified to learn that you are all going back to Old Annapolis. Also that there has been 300 more students added to the school. It will be the means of keeping Annapolis at par with its former value. I am very glad to hear that Grandmother has got out again, for I felt uneasy about her. Send my love to her when you write and tell her to take good care of herself for I want to see you and her once more. There is nothing worth relating to you so I must bring my letter to a close by bidding you a happy night’s sleep with pleasant dreams. Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. William sends his love to you all and says you must cheer up and not be uneasy about us.

I remain your affectionate son until death, — John S. Button

Co. B, 5th Regt. Maryland Vols. USA, Newport News, Va., or elsewhere.


Letter 4

Camp Butler
Newport News, Virginia
6 o’clock P. M., May 10th 1862

Dear Mother,

With the permission of William, I send you a note in his letter informing you that I am well and hope this will find you the same. It gives me much pleasure to inform you that at 5 o’clock this morning the Rebel steamer Merrimack exploded her magazine, she having been set on fire early last night by her officers who then deserted her. Mother, it was a beautiful sight to see her. We had a full view of her all the time. She lay fully 12 miles from us but the report of the explosion shook the very earth.

We have taken the city of Norfolk. This was done this morning and we have taken the Rebel steamers Jamestown, Teaser, and sunk the Yorktown. We lost the steamer Port Royal in this engagement. It took place three days ago.

I have received no letter from you this week or I would have written sooner. As soon as I receive your letter, I will give you a full account of the whole affair. Give my love to all and a share for yourself. I remain your affectionate son, — John S. Button


Letter 5

Fortress Monroe, Va.
July 3, 1862

Dear Mother,

I take this opportunity to write you a few lines informing you that I am still in the land of the living and enjoying good health and hope you are enjoying the same blessing.

I received your letter in due time and was glad to hear from you all. I would have answered it sooner but have not had time having bee on the go all the time, but having caught a spare moment this evening, I hasten to make use of it.

There is nothing of importance to relate to you. Tell Elijah and Lizzy that I congratulate them upon becoming mother & father of a son. I hope to live to see them raise it up to be a soldier.

Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Georgeanna has been home about two weeks. All are well with them except Alice. She has been very sick but has got most well again. William sends his love to you all. I got your picture. I think it is the best one you ever had taken.

Please excuse this miserably written letter as this pen is worthless and my time very sparing.

I will now close my note wishing you a happy Fourth of July. I remain your affectionate and obedient son until death. — John S. Button, Fortress Monroe, Va.


Letter 6

Fortress Monroe, Virginia
August 24, 1862

Dear Mother,

I take this the first opportunity to answer your kind and welcome letter. I was glad to hear that you were all enjoying your usual good health as it is my lot to enjoy the same good blessing.

I was in Baltimore last Monday and found them all enjoying their usual health. I went to see Eliza and Ellen. They were both well and send their love to you.

I notice in the [Baltimore] Clipper this morning a sad accident which resulted in the death of George Wilson. About 12 young men went from Annapolis and enlisted. Among them was George Wilson and Ike Richardson. George was examining a breach-loading pistol, when Richardson asked him to let him look at it, which he did, when by some means or other it exploded, the ball striking him in the ear and went through his head, killing him instantly. Another young widow left behind! Poor George. I am sorry for his wife and father.

There is nothing of importance to relate to you. McClellan has taken his army from the front of Richmond and has gone to Aquia Creek to join Pope and Burnside. You may look for some news from them soon, which I hope will end this bloody strife.

We have not been paid off yet. They owe us for four months. I expect we will be paid very soon and I will send you some. I must now close for want of something to say. I wish you all good health and prosperity. Write soon and let me hear from you all. I remain your affectionate and obedient son until death, — John S. Button


Letter 7

[It should be noted that someone has traced with ink the original handwriting which was rendered in light pencil.]

Camp at Harpers Ferry, Va.
October 4th 1862

Dear Mother,

I take this opportunity to write an answer to your long looked for and welcome letter of the 24th informing me of your good health, which blessing I still enjoy with the exception of fatigue. I have been Orderly for Acting Brig. General Schley ever since the Battle of Antietam which situation keeps me carrying messages to and from Headquarters. I stay at Headquarters altogethers.

There is some talk of us going to Baltimore. God grant that we may for I am sick and tired of living out doors in dirt and nothing seemingly to eat. William has been sick for several days but he is getting very well again. He sends his love to you all.

I shall make a strong effort for my discharge from the Army for I am completely played out by long marching and broken rest. If we were paid off, I would send you money to come down for I would have no trouble in getting it through your influence. I must now close my note for the want of time for I have now stolen away to write this. Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Direct your letter as your last.

I remain your affectionate and obedient son until death, — John S. Burton


Letter 8

Headquarters 5th Regt. Maryland Vols
Camp on Maryland Heights
November 13th 1862

Dear Mother,

I received your letter last evening and was glad to hear from your, moreso to hear that you were all well as I am still enjoying the same good blessing. You want to know about the specks you sent me. They are the best I have ever had yet. I am in the midst of many friends but not a house within a mile or two of our encampment. As for the nearness to home, I suppose we are about three miles nearer the Bolivar Heights, but being in our native state is as near as we can wish without being immediately at home. I am perfectly contented with my fate, and only hope that you are the same for I do not expect to fire another gun at the Rebels.

I am now in the midst of getting a still easier, and perhaps a better paying berth than I now have. I have been told that the Quartermaster is trying to get me as his clerk. If he succeeds, I will have to give my gun and equipments up and keep in the rear—all the time. He may not succeed, but I am told he is making a strong effort for me. I am surprised to hear this for he is a friend more than I thought I had, and one that has some influence. This news I heard today. When coming past his tent with the mail, I heard a voice crying “Johnny!” I turned and looked and it was my friend Hawkins, the Quartermaster’s sergeant. He took me one side and told me he had something to tell me and that I must keep it a secret until it was over with. I told him I would. He asked me if I was aware of getting a better place than I had. I told him I was not. He then told me that the Quartermaster was after me as clerk and that he thought I would get the appointment. I told him that I was surprised at the Quartermaster being such a friend to me. Oh no, he says. He, the Quartermaster, has always held you in the highest estimation as an honest, upright, young man—such a one as he would like to have about him. I hope he may succeed for if I get with him, my fare would be much better than it now is. The pay, I think, is more. I am not certain about it though. If I get it, I will write to let you know.

If you have not already sent the box, I would like you to put in it about a dozen papers of Union Smoking Tobacco, 4 or 5 quires of plain (not fancy) letter paper, and some number of packs of envelopes, plain white one half and the balance buff colored, plain. Also 6 dozen boxes of matches, one box of fine cut [ ] tobacco, one dozen pen holders, and pens, and if you can get it, send me a little brass padlock and send a bill with the cost of each article on it. All of these things I can sell very readily and double my money on them. Even if you have sent the box, it will pay to send another. And don’t forget to bake a nice loaf of homemade bread and send me. I would like to have about a dollar’s worth of 3 cent postage stamps. If you send the stamps, send them in your next letter. There is a great demand for all of the above articles as there [rest of letter missing].



Letter 9

Headquarters 5th Regt. Md. Vols.
Camp on Maryland Heights
November 16, 1862

Dear Mother,

I take my pen in hand to write you a few lines informing you that I am well and hope this will find you enjoying the same blessing.

I received my box containing a dress coat & pants, one shirt, 2 pair gloves, a smoking cap, one box of fried oysters, some pies, and apples, and some tobacco. The coat and pants are the finest I have ever seen of the government uniform and are much admired by all who saw them on me today. The coat fits as if it was made for me. The pants too with the exception of being an inch too long—a very good fault in soldier’s pants; the shirt just came in time for me to have a change; the gloves are just the kind for my purposes, going to so many Headquarters, and consequently meeting with a great many Generals. That cap! oh how I was tickled at it; just the thing to sleep in; just the thing to keep my ears warm this winter. In fact, it is just the very thing. I wanted and did not know it and the oysters were a great treat to me, the pies and apples the same, the tobacco is always a welcome article.

I am a thousand times indebted for these many favors of comfort at yours and Sarah’s hands which render me more grateful to you both, as I am so situated as to know how to appreciate them more than I should were I at home.

I hope you received my last letter in due time to get the articles I wrote for sometime this week as the demand for them is very good at this time.

I have not received a letter since I last wrote to you. I wrote to James last week and have received no answer from him yet. I must now close my letter. Give my love to all enquiring friends and a share for yourself. I remain your affectionate and obedient son until death.

— John S. Button


Letter 10

Headquarters 5th Regt. Maryland Vols.
Harpers Ferry, Va.
January 4, 1863

Dear Mother,

I embrace this opportunity to write you a few lines to let you know that I am well and hope this will find you all enjoying the same good blessing. I was surprised in the 2d to receive a box from you with a vest, cake, piece of tobacco and some apples. Also a letter. And upon opening it I was still more surprised to learn that the cake came from Newport, Rhode Island—a long distance to send cakes. But when I came to the eating part, I did not find it to be as good a raisin loaf as the one you sent me for Christmas.

I am sorry to hear of so many sudden deaths in your beautiful little city, I hope by this time the fell destroyer—death—has left your city for a long time to come, for I am afraid of hearing of the death of some of the family in every letter I receive from you. I would like very much to see the Port Tobacco Times and Annapolis Gazette with a list of those drafted in them. If you can get a copy of each of them, forward them to me by the mail.

There is nothing worth relating to you from this part of the Army. All is quiet around us.

It now becomes my sacred duty to wish you a Happy New Year. May it be a year of prosperity, peace and plenty. May it be one of enjoyment rather than trouble with you all. May we all live to see many more Happy New Years, and that it may be my lot to be with you all in the forthcoming one, never to leave my happy home again. May it not be our lot to want for the necessaries of life, nor may it never be the lot of Maryland to feel the pangs of war on its soils in 1863 as she did in the year just past at South Mountain, Antietam, Sharpsburg, and on the whole of her soil bordering on the Upper Potomac, is the prayer of your son, now in arms to defend her rights and sacred honor.

Give my love to all enquiring friends and a large share for yourself. Write soon and let me hear from you all. It gives me a great comfort to receive a letter from home. I will now pen a few lines suited for yourself and should be copied in an album.

Lines from a Soldier to his Beloved Mother

Most venerated mother dear,
It is a custom world-wide known,
To wish a happy better year,
Than the one that just has flown.

May God take care of you, I pray,
Always protect you night and day;
And when the war is past and o’er,
From you, I’ll leave to roam no more.

Oh! how I wish to be with you.
I dream of you both night and day,
But Mother dear, there’s very few
With a nobler Mother, blessed today.

— John S. Button

I must now bring my letter to a close by subscribing myself your affectionate and obedient son until death. — John S. Button


Letter 11

Headquarters 5th Regt. Maryland Vols.
Harper’s Ferry, Va.
January 18, 1863

My Dear Mother,

I embrace this opportunity to answer your kind letter of the 16th inst. and was pleased to hear that you were all enjoying your usual good health. It still lies in my power to inform you that I am well and enjoying myself as much as can be expected in these times that tries men’s souls.

I was greatly surprised at noon yesterday by being informed that Georgianna had arrived at Sandy Hook, Maryland (here is where William is stationed with his company doing Provost Guard Duty). I immediately got permission from the Colonel and put on my coat, and started in full speed to see if she had come. I was not disappointed, however, for when I arrived there she was sure enough, and I tell you I was glad to see her. She came down with Mrs. Marsh. She did not bring any of the children with her as she will not stay more than two or three days. She left all well at home and is looking very well herself. She sends her love to you all.

Dear Mother, you are not aware that there is a sum of money due you by the City of Baltimore which will be of some benefit to you. The amount is five dollars per month commencing from the 17th day of August last, which amounts to the sum of 25 dollars on the 17th of this month. I will now put you in the way of getting it. In the first place, you will have to go and make affidavit before a magistrate that I am your legal and lawful son, and that you are dependent upon me for a living. The magistrate will then give you a certificate. This you will take to Baltimore and present to Samuel McKubbin, City Comptroller of Baltimore. You will find him at the Mayor’s Office in Holliday Street. I hope you will spare no pains in procuring this money for I have gone to a great deal of trouble to place it in your reach. There is no trouble about getting it as all that have applied for it have been successful in procuring it. After you get the first payment, there will be no trouble in your getting it monthly, of the 17th of each month.

I am very glad to see that Thomas J. Wilson has been appointed paymaster in the Regular Army. It is a lifetime office. I hope he will be the one to pay our Regiment hereafter. I was down to Sandy Hook today and ate my dinner with William. The Colonel and Lieutenant Colonel, and Capt. Marsh were there to dinner also.

I am very much afraid that I will not be able to get home after all. The power of granting furloughs has been taken from the General Commanding here and transferred to General Schenck in Baltimore. I shall try very hard for it anyhow.

I must now bring my letter to a close as it is getting late in the evening. Write an answer by return mail and let me hear from home. Give me all the news you have in store for me. Tell the girls to write and don’t be afraid of making mistakes or bad writing. I will excuse all these for the sake of humanity.

My love to all enquiring friends and double share for yourself. In conclusion, I remain your affectionate and obedient son, until death. — John S. Button

To Mrs. Sarah Button, Annapolis, Md.


Letter 12

Annapolis [Maryland]
Wednesday, December 15, 1863

Dear Mother,

I will now answer your kind letter. I would have done it before but have been quite sick since I last wrote to you. I am still in the house but I want to go to work tomorrow.

I am happy to inform you that Grandmother is much better. She has been sitting up yesterday and today. She may last a year or two longer but I will not be surprised to hear of her death any night I come to town.

Aunt Ann came down yesterday to see Grandmother. She was so glad to see her old sister that she got better immediately. Aunt Ann is looking quite well. She sends her love to you. Old. Dr. Clande has been buried since I wrote. The Masonic order were at his funeral.

Since I wrote to you I have myself been initiated in the “Improved Order of Red Men,” and hope to become a useful and honored member thereof. The first money I get I shall take the first and second degree. It is my wish to become an Odd Fellow and Mason while I can spare the money, and then when I get out of the Army—if I am lucky enough to get out—I shall have some friends to care for me.

I must now close. I have given you all the news. Little “John” is well and can almost talk. All the children are well. Sarah and Louie send their love to all. I have no heard from Uncle Elijah yet.

Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Hoping this will find you all well, I remain your affectionate son. — J. S. Butter


Letter 13

Headquarters 5th Maryland Detachment
Hanover Switch
February 28, 1864

My Dear Mother,

I take my pen in hand to write you a few lines informing you where I am. I am well and hope this will find you all enjoying the same blessing.

I am comfortably situated here, only 12 miles from Baltimore, and 7 from Annapolis Junction. Mother, the day I left Annapolis, Aunt Julia gave me 20 dollars to send you. I wanted a good many things for comfort, besides not knowing where I was going. I thought I had better keep the money rather than suffer. We are to be paid son and I will forward the amount to you. I hope you will not censure me for keeping it for I did it against my desire.

I will enclose you her letter and hope to send you the money in two weeks time. Schley is doing all he can to make us reenlist but he has got one too many this time. If they were to give ten thousand dollars bounty and a year’s furlough, I would not reenlist again.

They are all well in Baltimore and Annapolis except Louis. His health is no better. I am going to Balto. tomorrow on a pass.

I received Lizzie’s and Sophia’s letters and will answer them in due time. Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Write soon. No more at present but remain your affectionate son, — John S. Button. Corporal Co. B, 5th Maryland Vols., St. Dennis P. O. Baltimore County, Maryland

Excuse this letter. I am on guard and very sleepy but must stay up all night.


Letter 14

Headquarters
Fort Delaware, Delaware
April 7, 1864

My Dear Mother,

Your long and anxiously looked-for letter has come at last. I received it today and hasten to give it an early answer. I was very happy to hear from you, that you were all enjoying good health, which blessing it is my lot to enjoy.

I saw Emory and his wife when in Baltimore. They were well. Emory is very busy, not having time to remain home more than a day or two at one time. They are all well at Annapolis. Louis is very busy at present, there being over thirty thousand troops there. Georgeanna is well; also her family. William wrote you a letter sometime since. I read it before it was mailed and think it a very friendly epistle. He has changed wonderfully since being in the Army, being altogether a different man, which change gives me great pleasure. You acknowledge the receipt of his letter and I truly hope that you will give it an early and friendly answer. He says it is the second one has has written to you, and has got no answer. He wrote to you when we were at Newport News. He says if you don’t answer this, he will never write you another.

Mother, I am glad you did not think hard of me in keeping the money I received from Aunt Julia. It was a God send to me for had I not kept it, I should have suffered for something to eat on my journey. We have not been paid yet but are looking for it daily. As son as we are paid, I shall transmit the amount to you immediately.

Well Mother, I was twenty-four years of age last Tuesday week, but I can scarcely realize the fact. My time in the Army is growing shorter every day and I will hail with joy, if I live, to see the first day of November next. If you are still in Newport, do not be surprised to see a fine, black cloth suit, walk in to greet you all with his Freedom in one hand and love in the other, about Christmas time.

I do not know how long I shall remain here. I have made many friends among the officers, which perhaps might keep me here when the regiment should leave. I hope so at any rate.

Mother, answer this as soon as you can that I may always get an answer in case we should leave. William sends his love to you and says he is looking anxiously for an answer to his letter. Give my love to all and keep a large share for yourself. Hoping this may find you all still in the enjoyment of good health, I remain your affectionate son, — J. Sockett Button

Corporal Co. B, 5th <aryland Vol. Infantry, Fort Delaware, Delaware.

Give my love to Sophy and tell her to write me a nice letter. I think a great deal of her. By writing me a letter now and then, she will improve in her letter writing. She can write better now than Alice. Tell her I would like to see her very much. It has been more than two years since I last saw her. — J. S. B.

P. S. Fort Delaware is entirely surrounded by water, being almost 4 miles from New Jersey and 3 from the Delaware shore. We have a steamer that runs daily to Salem, New Jersey, Newcastle, Wilmington, and Delaware City, Delaware. I have not been off the island since I landed but as soon as we get paid, I intend visiting the above cities. No more but remain. Your affectionate son, — J. Stockett Button


Letter 15

Fort Delaware, Del.
May 5th 1864

My own dear Mother,

Your welcome letter of the 2nd inst. is at hand, and it is with pleasure I now seat myself to give it an early answer, which I hope will find you all enjoying good health—a blessing I have long enjoyed.

The stamps you sent were much needed by me. I have not been able to write a letter for a week past for want of stamps.

I heard from Emory last week. He is well. He passed here on his way to New York. I have written to him and expect an answer daily. The number of their house is 47 Orchard Street, Baltimore, Md. I knew her father had the Small Pox but did not know that Lizzie had. I think it must be a mistake.

I got a letter from Louis yesterday in which he says, “John, I am glad that I can write you now that I feel like another man. For my health, I can say it is better now than for the past two years and is improving every day.” Sarah and the children except Emma are well. Emma was taken with spasms in Saturday. She got very low but is getting better. Little “John” can walk now and is very interesting.

Jim Button has moved his family to Annapolis. He is working for Bailey. Louis has been very busy this spring but it is all over now. He says that the streets were lined with peddlers and every house was a store, but they have left now. Mary Wells has another fine daughter.

Mother you spoke in your letter about my getting a nice little wife. I cannot say that I will, but unless my mind takes a change, I do not think I am very apt to unless someone dies and leaves me one, for since I got acquainted with her, I do not love for others only as pleasant company. However, when I get out of the Army, I am going to Port Tobacco and if I find one there that has a full purse and I like her, why then such a thing might happen.

I have a very nice lady correspondent in New Hampshire that I have never seen but I really believe she is smitten with me. I told her my portrait as near as I could with a pen. She has promised to send me a photograph if I return the favor. When I get it, I will send it up and let you see it.

Well, Mother, I have entirely run out of news so I will bring this to a close hoping you will not keep me waiting long for an answer. I am sorry Sophy did not send her picture in your letter but she must write and send it as soon as you get this. My love to all and a double share for yourself.

I remain your affectionate son, — J. Stockett Button, Corporal, Co. B, 5th Maryland Vol., Fort Delaware, Del.


Letter 16

Headquarters near Petersburg, Va.
June 27, 1864

Dear Mother,

After waiting sometime for an opportunity, I will now write you a few lines to assure you that I am still well and in good spirits.

Profile of Gen. Adelbert Ames. Button served as his Orderly before Petersburg in June 1864

I received your letter last Tuesday whilst laying in the rifle pits near the enemy. Since that time I have been lucky enough to get a good berth. I am now Orderly to Brigadier General [Adelbert] Ames and do not have to go with the regiment on any duty. So you need not make yourself the least uneasy about me for if I am hurt, it will be a mere chance.

I have written to Louis several times since we left and requested him to let you know about me. I have not time to write as I wish so by writing to Louis you can all hear from me.

William is well and sends his love. Give my love to all and keep for yourself my best love. I remain your affectionate son.

— J. Stockett Button, Corporal Co. B, 5th Maryland Vols, 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 18th Army Corps

Write soon and use all are well at home.



Letter 17

Headquarters 5th Md. Vol. Infantry
2nd Brigade, 1st Division, 18th Corps
In the field near Petersburg, Va.
August 12, 1864

My Dear Mother,

It is with pleasure I write these few lines informing you that I am well and in fine spirits, and it is my wish that this may find you in full possession of the same blessings.

It has been some time since I wrote to you and have not received an answer to my last yet. During my long absence I have not ceased to thank you. I would have written before this but it has been so warm and my time so much taken up that I have been unable to write to anyone but Louis. By writing to him I can let you all know how I am getting along.

Well, Mother, our regiment is pretty nigh broken up. They have put most of the Veterans into the Regular Artillery service and as soon as they transfer the balance out of the regiment, those who did not reenlist will be sent home and mustered out of the service. It is the impression that we will get home by the 24th day September next. This is indeed cheering news to us for we are nearly starved to death for nourishing food, besides almost naked. We do not wish to draw any more clothing on account of having so short a time to serve.

Capt. Irving is home on sick leave for twenty days and from what he says, I do not think he will return any more. He can get his discharge without any trouble and if he does not get out now, I think he is very foolish.

They are all well at home and send their love to all. As soon as I get home I intend paying you all a visit for I want to see you all very much. I have not seen Elijah or Lizzie since the school left Annapolis over three years ago, and it has been a year since I saw you last.

There is nothing new in this army. Speculation, humbugary, whiskey-drinking, and show-making is about all that is going on among the officials. On the 30th of July there was some 5,000 to 6,000 men slaughtered [in the Battle of the Crater and] for what? Well I must say that the object was good and could have been accomplished with little loss, but there was too much confidence placed in the confounded “Negro” to do the work and the officers, as in all cases, could not brave the fight without the aide of whiskey. Unfortunately they had too much of it on this occasion. This is about all our army has been doing for the past two years. It is a great shame that such a government as we have should fold their arms in silence and allow one of the grandest armies the word ever boasted to be conducted in such a manner.

Give my love to all and a large share for yourself. Write soon. No more but remain truly your affectionate son, — J. Stockett Button, Corporal Co. B, 5th Maryland Vol. Infantry, 2nd Brigade, 1st Division, 18th Army Corps, near Petersburg, Va.

Via Fortess Monroe, Va.


Letter 18

Annapolis [Maryland]
March 1st 1865

Dear Mother,

I again have the pleasant opportunity of dropping you a few lines that you may be informed of our health and doings.

Since I last wrote to you death has entered our family and snatched from the circle a young and promising bud—little Dora Wells, age 2 years and some months, son of James and Mary E. Wells. His death was quite sudden caused by croup. He died on Tuesday evening last. Mrs. Eliza Wells was buried last week and today her daughter buried her little babe.

With this exception we are all enjoying our usual good health except grandmother has been quite unwell, but is getting better. I fear she will [not] survive the coming spring.

I received a letter from Uncle Elijah last week enclosing $10 for grandmother. He says he had send you a very urgent invitation to pay them a visit. He says he is growing old and does not like the idea of growing “both old and cold at the same time.” It is my intention to pay them a visit this summer if nothing prevents my so doig.

Louis has been very busy taking in some days as high as twelve hundred dollars a day, selling clothing to officers just from Rebeldom. There is expected this week another large arrival of both officers and men.

There is nothing else of importance to write about. I received a letter to Jim’s wife and 3 vignettes of myself. They are splendid. Give my compliments to Mr. Fowler and tell him to print me 1 dozen of them, and if you have the money to spare, pay him and I will pay you back. They were admired by all who saw them. My respects to Mr. Fowler, Mr. & Mrs. Tilley, Mr. & Mrs. Denver, Mr. Brewer, Clarke, French, and all enquiring friends, and above all my best wishes to all the young Ladies with who I am acquainted—Miss Jennie especially.

All join me in love to you all, hoping to see you all returning to Annapolis this spring. I remain your affectionate son, — John S. Button

Leave a comment