1861-62: Augustus CHambers to his Family

I could not find an image of Augustus but here’s an unidentified private about his age that looks to be wearing a New York State jacket. (Jules Martino Collection)

Augustus Chambers was 38 years old when he enlisted at New York City on 17 September 1861 to serve three years in Co. H, 57th New York Infantry. One years later—to the very day, he was killed in action at the Battle of Antietam.

Augustus was the son of Solomon Chambers (1791-1835) and Ann Johnson (1790-1885) of New Jersey. He was married 23 November 1845 to Elizabeth Hancock (1818-1859) and the couple had at least three children: Joseph Hancock Chambers (1847-1932), Charity H. Chambers (born 20 June 1850), and John R. Chambers (born 7 February, 1857). In the 1850’s, Augustus was employed as a “laborer” in Burlington, New Jersey, with a residence on Pearl Street. He was an active member of the Methodist Church. A widower, in 1860 he was enumerated in Ann Hellina’s boarding house in Burlington; his young children apparently being raised by others.

The particulars of Augustus’s death cannot be found but we can assume that he was struck down in the regiment’s charge upon the Sunken Road or in the Piper’s cornfield beyond. Sixteen enlisted men from the 57th New York regiment lost their lives on the field that day. Seventy-three more were wounded, most of whom survived. A regimental history describes that moment as follows:

“We are lying behind the hill that overlooks the field of action, every moment expecting to go in. The bullets are whistling over our heads and our hearts are beating as fast as the lead is flying. ‘Whose head will come off,’ we are asking ‘when we rise and move forward?’ The worst part of a battle is this waiting to go in. ‘Fall in!’ The word has come, we jump up, get in line and march steadily in battalion front to the brow of the hill. Now we are in it and the minies are plenty. As we pass the Sixty-Ninth—or what is left of them about a hundred men with colors in tatters—they cheer and we return it. Down the side of the hill toward the Sunken Road the Fifty-Seventh and the Sixty-Sixth charge together and over the ditch they go, stepping on the bodies of the rebel dead. Yet another charge and we have taken Piper’s house and are in the cornfield beyond. All along the path of this charge our men have fallen killed and wounded, but victory is ours.” [Fifty-Seventh NY State Vol., by Gilbert Frederick, Ch. VIII]

Letter 1

Camp Morgan
Long Island
October 23, 1861

My dear friends,

I reached my camp on Saturday about 5 o’clock P. M. in safety with pretty good wetting, having to walk two miles from the landing in the rain. But I am still well. A camp life agrees with me first rate. The worst fault I have is the wickedness of the soldiers but thank God I can live a religious life here in the discharge of my duty. I can find time to pray and read the scriptures by so doing. I receive strength to resist the temptation and to stand steadfast unmovable always, abounding in the work of the Lord. I am not afraid of a soldier’s life hurting me though I have no doubt it will be the ruin of hundreds.

Like the Manhattan Rifles, the Clinton Rifles must have originally worn the baggy pants popularized by the French Chasseurs. Members of the Manhattan Rifles mustered into the 43rd and 57th New York Regiments.

We are not a going to leave for the South this week. The fleet that we was going in has gone. We are going to move to Staten Island to join a part of a regiment that is there tomorrow, We shall not be called the Clinton Rifles anymore but shall be the 57th Regiment of New York. We shall change our uniform and I shall be glad of that for I do not like these big [baggy] pants.

Staten Island is about 30 miles from here. This is the third time we have moved. We have a fine chance to see the country. We shall not be long there I guess. We shall go to Washington. For my part I don’t care much where we go—-wherever I can serve my country best. I have had quite a feast on the nuts Rachel and Charity put in my satchel. I ate the cakes coming along on Saturday. The soap I have not tried yet.

Camp Lafayette
Staten Island
Co. H, 57th Regt. New York
Capt. Horner
October 25, 1861

We are now in our new quarters. Yesterday morning at 4 o’clock the drum beat to call us up to get ready for a march. The camp was soon all astir and full of life. We soon got our breakfast and began to pack up. At 10 we was called in line, some with knapsacks, some with carpet bags, rifles and blankets on our shoulders & it looked quite war like, I assure you. The command march was soon given and we started for the landing, 3 miles distant, where one of the government steamers was waiting for us. We were soon all on board, the lines cast off, and we soon [were] on our way for Staten Island.

It was a very pleasant ride down the Sound. We passed through what is called Hell’s Gate and was soon in sight of New York. We also saw Blackwell’s Island on which is built the city prisons and alms houses and on which are hundreds of prisoners & paupers. We were soon opposite the great city—New York on the right and Brooklyn on the left—with the hundreds of boats and vessels of all description passing in every direction presented quite a lively scene. We soon passed the two beautiful cities and found ourselves in the middle of New York Bay. The swells run pretty high. Some of them striking our boat would make her timbers crack again but we passed safely over and was soon landed on the island which is about 7 miles from New York. Several nice steamers play between the island and the city—60 cents is the fare. There is a railroad running through the island about 20 miles long. On this road we went to the camp which is 4 miles close to the track. There is not many tents here but there is building 400 feet long with bunks enough for a 1,000 men to sleep in. We have straw matts to lay on and we can rest pretty well only it is rather cool. We had a heavy frost this morning and there was a good deal of complaining of sleeping cold.

“Quite an amusing incident occurred today while eating dinner. An elderly woman and her daughter entered the building, marched up and aisle till they came to a lad about 17 years old, took him by the collar, and marched him out of the house amid the cheers and shouts of hundreds of soldiers.”

We have another house where a 1,000 can sit down and eat at a time. Quite an amusing incident occurred today while eating dinner. An elderly woman and her daughter entered the building, marched up and aisle till they came to a lad about 17 years old, took him by the collar, and marched him out of the house amid the cheers and shouts of hundreds of soldiers.

We have plenty to eat and more than we do eat, several poor women come & get what is left & they go away loaded.

Our camp is in sight of the Atlantic Ocean whitened with sails of the many ships that gather there. The talk is that we shall be here about ten days before we start for Washington but it is hard to tell.

October 26, 1861

I will try to finish my letter today. I have fell in with some religious company here which is a great comfort to me. We had a good prayer meeting last night. The Lord was with us & we are going to have one every week. We will show these wicked sinners that we can serve our God in the camp of wickedness. N. B. I wish you would mail to Taylor’s. They would like to hear from me [but] I cannot get time to write to all my friends. Direct to Gardener Taylor, Cinnaminson Post Office, New Jersey. Never mind the county. And Jos. and Charity, I would say you must obey those that have the rule over us. I do it and I want you too.

And you must not forget your Master in Heaven. We must obey Him above all others. Read His holy word and you will learn what he commands of you. He says give me thy heart. He says we must repent and believe in the Lord Jesus Christ and unless we do that, we can not be saved. We cannot get to Heaven. I want you to be good and get to that Happy World where there will be no more war, nor sin, nor sorrow. I do not forget you in my prayers though away from you but you must pray for yourselves and for me that God may keep [us] from evil and sin in this trying hour, and if it is His will, bring me back safe. We must learn in all things to say, “Thy will be done.” and then all will be well. Thank His holy name I can trust all to Him. The bible says it shall be well with the righteous and I believe it with all my heart. But I must stop. I am on guard today.

My respects to all. — A. Chambers

Excuse this writing and spelling. I did in a hurry.


Letter 2

Camp Lafayette, Staten Island
Company H, 57th New York Regiment
Capt. [Wesley] Horner
November 7, 1861

My dear children & friends,

I take this the last opportunity that I shall have of writing to you before going to the seat of war for we are going to leave on Saturday or Monday sure. We are still on Staten Island. We have left the old barracks [at New Dorp] & pitched our tents again & I like them the best for I can be more to myself out of hearing of the filthy & wicked talk. There is but three in my tent & they are nice men.

We had a dreadful storm & wind on Saturday last which made it rather unpleasant in tents. We expected our tents would blow down on our head. I slept with my shoes on ready for a march if they did. It shook them dreadfully [and] two or three did blow down & turned their tenants out in the rain. It will surely be pretty trying for the soldiers this winter. I have been out several times since I wrote looking round the island & there is many nice places. Among them is the ocean shore. It is delightful to stand on the shore & see the monstrous ships & steamers coming in and going out. New York is a sight worth seeing. I visited Camp Scott which is about three miles from our camp. It is a very large camp. It is a camp of cavalry. There is 2,000 men and about 700 horses. They are soon to start for the war too.

The sutler here has been doing a rushing business for two or three days past. The boys are all out of money but we expect to get paid off this week & the way the sutler works it to do such a business is this. He has lots of printed checks on the paymaster. These he gives out to the soldiers for 1, 2 or 3 dollars. They take them to their Captain and get him to sign them & then they take them back to the sutler [and] he gives the amount in tickets for 2, 3, 5, 10, 15, 25 cents each. With these they can buy lager beer and cider, cakes, pies, tobacco, and almost anything they want and in this foolish way some spend 2 or 3 dollars a day. If payday doesn’t come pretty soon, some of the poor fellows will not have much coming to them.

We have had a great time here today. We have just got our rifles today & drilled for the first time with them & it took quite war like. We have had also our flag—a very beautiful one presented to the regiment today by the merchants of New York. Six carloads came from New York of men and women & a splendid band of music & a juvenile military camp & we had a lively time & pleasant one too.

I received a letter from Mrs. Crook yesterday. She says Johnnie has just returned from visit to Columbus & that [he] brought a bag of nuts & a pumpkin with him & that he is going to have some pumpkin pie. He says that Charity would not come to Burlington with him & Uncle Charles. Now Charity, my dear child, I think you ought to have went with them for a ride. I want you to go & see John whenever you can. Josey is coming to see about Christmas & I may be back by that time. I do not think the war can last longer than spring at the farthest & that will soon slip around. As I said before, I want you & Josie to be good children, to love God and keep His commandments, & then you have nothing to fear. I hope you pray to God everyday that He may keep you from sin & evil & fit you for the skies. You can not begin too young to be religious. It will save you from a thousand snares to mind religion young. Grace will preserve your following [days] and make you virtuous, [and] strong. Oh my dear children, give your hearts to God through Christ Jesus who died to save the world.

We have changed our uniform today and we like the new much better. We are almost ready for a start for Washington so the next time I write I may have something more interesting to tell you. We may not start until Tuesday.

You will please send this to Josey. Direct as before.

—A. Chambers

Just as I had finished this letter, one of our boys came in camp who had been on a visit to Dobbs Ferry—a beautiful village on the Hudson River where we was encamped about a month ago with a basket full of nice things for our camp such as needles & pins, thread & buttons, rags and flannel to dress our wounds, & a nice worked pin cushion, &c. sent to us by the ladies of that village. The boys give thee hearty cheers for the ladies of Dobbs Ferry & we are a going to return to them our thanks through one of the New York papers.


Letter 3

57th New York Volunteers
Colonel Zook Camp
Comp. H, Capt. Horner
Camp near Washington, D. C.
November 19, 1861

Josey and Dear Friends,

I suppose you know that I have left for the seat of war. We left Staten Island on Tuesday last at 3 o’clock & arrived in Washington Wednesday at 11 P. M. I enjoyed the ride & the scenery along the way very much. We lodged one night in Washington, received our evening & morning rations of bread, fat pork, & coffee. Next morn we slung our knapsacks, shouldered our arms, & marched about half a mile out of town & pitched our tents. It began to rain before we got there & the ground being rather low & wet, we spent one uncomfortable night having no straw or boards but the wet ground to lay on.

Sunday the order came from the Colonel that we must move again over on a hill that had been vacated the day before by a regiment moving over into Virginia. Some of us did not like moving on the Sabbath but we had to submit. This is six times we have moved in two months so we are now about a mile NW of Washington on a very pretty hill affording [a fine view] of Washington, the Capitol, & the surrounding country whitened with [tents] & filled with horses and army wagons.

I have nothing very interesting to tell you yet. I have not had a chance to see much of the city. We are kept pretty close. It is a hard matter to get passes to go out & it is not safe for any soldier to go through Washington without one for he is in danger of being arrested & locked up. One of our men was shot there the other night.

For 4 or 5 [miles] around Washington in every direction it is a living moving mass of men and horses. Regiment after regiment are pouring in and every place suitable for a camp is taken up. The glittering sword & bayonets, the roaring of the cannon going through the drill, the beating of the drum, the blast of the bugle, the long trains of army wagons, the clattering of the feet of the cavalry, make it look war like. I assure you, I think Washington is safe.

There is some talk of our going to South Carolina soon but I don’t know whether it is so or not. But I suppose [smudged] …it was for this that I enlisted. I know the Union expects every man to do his duty & God being my helper, that I am determined to do.

I hope soon to have a view of the city & [smudged] Tell Uncle Alex I have been to the Capitol but have [not] been inside. It is getting pretty cold here—most too much for a camp life. But I must stop. You must excuse my poor writing. I don’t get much chance to write here. Johnnie was up to the cars the night I came though Burlington though it was 3 o’clock & brought me a pumpkin pie & some cake. Pray for me. — A. C.


Letter 4

N. Y. S. V. Regt. 57th, Comp. H, Capt. Horner
Camp near Alexandria, Virginia
December 21, 1861

My Dear Children,

I received you last letters two days after date & was glad to hear from you. I am still well. I have a bad cold but have got over it. There is a good deal of sickness in our camp and several have died. The weather has been too warm here to be healthy but is cooler today.

“We was ready & willing to go [meet the enemy] & are at any time. We know that we can whip them because we are right and they are wrong.”

We have not moved yet but know not how soon we may have to. We are drilling pretty hard & are fat becoming soldiers. The long roll beat the night after we had gone to bed & we was all ready for a march to meet the rebels in a few minutes. Two or three regiments hurried off but our Colonel was sick and we did not go. They came back in the morning without seeing anything of the enemy. You may think that we was glad that we did not have to go but we was not. We was ready & willing to go & are at any time. We know that we can whip them because we are right and they are wrong.

We have been amused several times by the balloon ascensions which takes place near our camp. We are getting better rations now than we did. We expect to get two months pay the first of January and we expect to be home by spring if not before.

I got a letter from Charity the other day & she said that she had been to Burlington to [see] John and he was well and is getting fat. Christmas is most here and I suppose you are agoing to see John & Charity & have a good time. I should like to be with you but cannot. I told Mrs. Crook that you was coming & I expect John will be looking out for you. And I told Charity too that you was coming there. I told Mrs. Crook to give each of you a quarter to spend. You can take Charity’s to her or get her something nice with it. If a quarter is not enough for you, you can ask Mrs. Crook to give more. You must go and see your Grandmother & [Mrs. Hellings & I hope you may have a nice time for Christmas comes but once a year.

But Josey, I wonder of you know why the 25th of December is called Christmas? I expect you do. Well that is supposed to be the day that our Savior was born on. If not on that very day, all Christians are agreed it was somewhere about that time. Hence that day is kept as commemorative of our Savior’s advent into the world to save sinners. Read the 2nd Chapter of Luke. We ought to think of the blessed Savior more on that day and try to love & serve Him all the time and thank Him for his goodness in thus coming to save us.

You said that Mrs. Taylor wanted to write soon in your letter. I should [like] her or Mr. Taylor, or any of the family to do so. You can take this letter with you and give it to Charity & you can let your grandmother and Mrs. Crook see it. Charity, I forgot to tell you that I got the piece of your dress and think it was very nice. I am sorry that the woman that you spoke of in your last letter is so bad off. Know that her husband has left her all the money that he had when we came through Burlington and he will soon have two months pay and I expect he will send her that. I think your last letter was wrote better than the others. Take pains & you will soon be a good writer. You and Jos. both, I love to read letters from my children. But I myst stop writing.

From your Father

You must excuse my blunder in writing and spelling for I have but a poor chance to write here—no place but my tent cluttered up with knapsacks, rifles, blankets, and 3 or 4 others in it making a noise.


Letter 5

NY Regt. 57th, Company H, Capt. Horner
Camp near Alexandria, Virginia
January 10, 1862

My Dear Boy,

I received your letter two days after date and was glad to hear that you was all well & that you had such a pleasant time on Christmas & that you found them all well at Burlington & Columbus. You say, however, that your grandmother was sick. I am glad you went to see the old lady. You must do so every time you go to Burlington. She feels worried because I am away. She told Mrs. Crook that she felt as if she wanted to see the children every day now that I was away. I have not heard from her since you was there.

Sallie Hellings said that she would like to see you and Charity. You must go there the next time you go to Burlington.

I received my New Year’s box all safe on the 30th of December. I had been away from camp 4 days on picket duty and had just got back when it came so it came in a very good time & it was a very good box. Everything carried all right & I had a good New Years dinner. I enjoyed them very much. I have not eaten all up yet. That was a very nice pencil that you sent.

I have no particular news to tell you. Just now all seems quiet here. I believe we are a going to advance 60,000 strong 5 miles beyond Springfield as soon as we get paid off. We shall be very near the rebels then and perhaps we shall have a fight with them. We went as far as Springfield Station when we was out on picket but did not see any of them. We saw where they had been encamped last fall but they had left & I guess they will leave again when we move on.

We have had a pretty cold spell of weather here and about two inches of snow but it is warm and muggy now and very muddy. We have got a stove in our tent now & it makes it very nice. There is 5 of us in a tent & the stove cost us 60 cents apiece. There is plenty of good wood close by so we can keep warm now.

I am obliged to Mrs. Taylor for her lines of encouragement in your letter & for her willingness to have contributed her part to my box & I hope she will write again.

January 12th. This is a very fine day—more like April than January. We have only had about two inches of snow and the thickest ice not more than 2 inches. We have not had any divine service today yet. We have no place to have it in & we can not get the men together outdoors. The soldiers don’t care much about religious meetings but we are a going to raise $100 among us to buy a big tent to hold meetings in. Then we shall have meetings twice on the Sabbath and once through the week. Then it will seem more like home. We are a going to have prayer meeting this afternoon in the hospital for the benefit of the sick.

It doesn’t seem much like Sunday here. We have inspection every Sunday morning. We have to have our rifles vleaned, our knapsacks packed, & have our haversacks, cups & plates, canteen & all that has been given to us by the government & turn out in line and be inspected by an officer. And the big four and six-horse teams are a going all day on the Sabbath & today and nearly all last night, the heavy cannons are roaring along the Potomac. There must be something going on along the Potomac.

I have just come from the meeting at the hospital among the sick. We had a very good meeting. There is a good many sick. This is a poor place to be sick. I hope that I shall not get in the hospital.

I don’t know what to say about the war but I do not think it can last long. I hope it will not. I want to get home. I do not think much of a soldier’s life. It is a rough life and the soldiers is so wicked & there is so much profane and filthy talk. It is shocking to the feelings of a Christian man. I would advise everyone never to enter the army for anything but a pure love for their country. Many a young man will be ruined by entering the army for an easy life but it is right and proper to join the army when the country is in danger. But I guess I have written enough.

I send my respects to all the family and Jos., I expect you still are a good boy. I want you to be good. Then you will have nothing to fear. When you direct your letter, you need not put the Colonel’s name on. This is a very warm evening—almost like June.

The drum is beating for roll call and I must stop. Goodbye. From your Father


Letter 6

New York 57th Regiment, Comp. H
Camp near Alexandria, Virginia
February 2d 1862

Jos, my dear boy,

I received your letter on Thursday last and was pleased to learn from it that you are all well and I am very glad to hear that you love to go to school so well and that you have such a good teacher. I think it is a pretty good sign that you are a good boy to hear you speak well of your teacher. Bad boys seldom speak well of their teachers if they are ever so good and I am glad that the scholars are so nice. It is very pleasant to have agreeable companions. I am glad that you have got such good company. I hope you will always keep in good company. The wise man in the bible says one sinner destroys much good. The same wise man says also, “Go not in the way of evil men,” and I would say to you now, dear boy, go not in the way of evil and count no one your associate that lies or swears or takes the name of God in vain. Solomon in the bible says, “My son, if sinners entice, then consent thou not.” And I hope that you will always love your school and your books until you get a good education. That is a treasure that cannot be taken from you. Religion and learning are the two principle things to carry us through this world safe and give us admittance into the better world above. I hope that both these you will possess.

I haven’t anything new to tell you yet. Things seem pretty much as they were when I last wrote. We have been expecting to move for some time and the talk now is that the whole army will as soon as the roads will admit. It has rained here nearly every day for 4 weeks and roads are almost impassable. The mud is dreadful in our camp. We cannot stir out of our tents without going shoe top deep. We cannot drill or anything else. I am tired of doing nothing. I am afraid that the war will not come to a close as soon as I thought it would but we cannot tell much about it. We must trust in God and hope for the best.

We expect to go on picket again in a few days. I [hope] we shall have good weather for it is very unpleasant in stormy weather. But soldiers must get used to hardships. We are willing to endure all these things for the sake of our glorious Union. I have no doubt but that we shall be victorious and the Stars and Stripes shall wave again over every state. Conquer we must for our cause it is just. And this is our motto, “in God we will trust.”

The Marshall House in Alexandria where Col. Ellsworth was killed. (Library of Congress)

February 3rd. Yesterday was a very fine day. It looked [like] Spring but today we have a severe snowstorm. I got a pass today and visited Alexandria for the first time. It is a very nice town and quite a business place. It is alive with soldiers and army teams. I saw the [Marshall House] hotel where Ellsworth was shot. I went all over or through it and saw the very spot where the brave Colonel fell. It is quite a large building and was at that time one of the principal hotels of the place but it looks as if it has seen hard times since. It is now a rendezvous for soldiers.

But I must bring my letter to a close. We got 2 months pay last Monday which was due us on the first of January. I am going to send you a quarter. I sent Charity one this morning, and I got a letter from her last week. She was well.

I am obliged to Mrs. Taylor for her encouraging lines and hope they will not be the last. I send my love to all the family. From your affectionate father.


Letter 7

[Alexandria, Virginia]
[21 February 1862]

Jos, my dear boy,

I received your letter yesterday and am glad to know that you are all well except Mrs. Taylor and that she is getting better and that she was able to write some in your letter for it was a pleasure and encouragement to me to read it. We soldiers like to receive and read letters from our friends at home. I hope that your letter will always be filled up with such encouraging lines. You did not say whether you received my last letter or not [that] I sent about three weeks ago and a quarter of a dollar in it and I have been thinking today perhaps you did not get it.

I haven’t much news to tell you yet about the Army of the Potomac. We are here yet almost stuck fast in the mud. There is so much stormy weather it keeps the camps and the roads almost a quagmire so that it is impossible for the army to move but we are under marching orders all the time and our Colonel told us tonight at dress parade to be ready for any emergency—to wear our [cartridge] belts through the day, to be ready at a moment’s warning—and I think something will be done along the Potomac before long. Our expedition along the rebel coast are doing wonders. They are gaining victory after victory in the Gulf States as you have no doubt seen in the papers. The rebels are being killed and taken prisoners by thousands and their strongholds taken from them and I think the way things are going the war will soon be ended as soon as the going will admit. The Army of the Potomac will advance and soon whip them out of Virginia. That I think will end the conflict [and] is the opinion of most everyone—that all will be over in two months. That will be a joyful time when the soldiers who have been a long time from home and from those they love can return with victory perched upon their banners. Let us all pray to the Great Ruler above that He may hasten the glorious day.

Tomorrow is Washington’s Birthday. I expect we shall have quite a time in our camps. The New Jersey 4th and the New York 64th Regiments raised nice and high poles today and have splendid flags which will be floating from them and we shall have plenty of good music. We have plenty of that every day for that matter. I should like you all to be here to see the camps and soldiers and listen to our good music.

February 22nd. Before light this morning I heard one of the bands playing sweetly, Hail Columbia, Happy Land, and at reveille the band of the 52nd New York played beautifully the Star Spangled Banner. Since that time the cannons [in all] the forts around have been roaring which makes one think this is more than an ordinary day although it is raining again [as] usual.

Two regiments of infantry and one of cavalry left here this [morning] to go to assist our pickets in case the rebel scouts attempt to drive them in. They made quite a show when they left. A thousand horses together makes a pretty long string. The horses and men looked fine.

But I must bring my letter to a close. You may look for me home in April. I am still blessed with good health. I have not seen a sick hour yet since I left home. We was out on picket last week. We had one stormy day. The other three was very fine. Some of us went as far as Burke’s Station [in Fairfax] but saw no rebels. That place is about 15 miles from our camp and 25 from Washington.

Give my love to all and I want you all to pray for me that I may have grace and victory over every besetment & sin. — Your Father


Letter 8

Shipping Point, Virginia
April 9, 1862

Jos. my dear boy,

I will take this opportunity to write you a few lines to let you know how I am getting along. I have been sick for a week but I feel pretty well this morning. I suppose you have heard that we have gone on an expedition.

We left Alexandria on Friday last and arrived at Fortress Monroe about 10 o’clock Saturday night. We had a very pleasant ride down the Potomac and across the Chesapeake Bay [aboard the steamer Ariel] but it was pretty rough on the bay and our boat rocked quite a good deal. The river and bay was full of boats and vessels loaded with soldiers and horses and provisions and wagons for the army. It looked very pretty when we anchored opposite the fort. The lights on the many boats and vessels that lay around there made it look as if we had got into a large city.

We lay down about 12 o’clock and slept until morning which was a beautiful Sabbath morning and the sun shone beautiful on the bay. We expected to be landed at the fort but was ordered to go 12 miles further and landed at this place—it being the nearest landing place to Yorktown which place is strongly fortified by the rebels and a large force of them there. General McClellan was near there too with a good army and our brigade was to reinforce him. We have been expecting a big battle for two or three days. We are encamped about 8 miles from the town waiting for further news. It is said here that Yorktown is all surrounded by the Union troops so they will have to fight or be taken prosoners.

We have a very cold storm here now which makes it bad for us as we have no tents—only what we make with our rubber blankets. A soldier’s life is pretty hard when on a march. We cannot get our regular rations and much of the time have to eat our meat raw and we get tired of the hard crackers. They keep us moving about pretty well. We went about 20 miles below Manassas and run the rebels across the Rappahannock river and captured several prisoners. One of them was one of the Black Horse Cavalry that was in the Battle at Bulls Run. He was a fine looking fellow and said he would not take the oath if they sent him to hell. The rebels burned and destroyed all before them that they had time and when they got over the bridge, set that on fire. But our army captured 200 beef cattle that they had not time to get over. We then marched back to Manassas, then took the cars for our camp at Alexandria and was there only one day when we had to leave on the fleeet.

I think the war is almost ended now. When we get Yorktown and Richmond and one or two more places, I think the rebels will be most done. I hope it will soon be over for I want to get back to see you all again. It is my prayer to God who rules over all that this may be the case. My trust is still in Him who has been with me in the past that He will still protect me safe back to my dear children and I hope you will be a good boy & pray for me.

I should like to hear from you all. I send my love to all the family and want you all to pray for me.

April 11th. We are still here. We have had a very cold storm for 3 or 4 days. The New Jersey 6th [Regiment] arrived here yesterday and we saw many of our old friends from Burlington. There is a very large force here now. Yorktown is not taken yet but we think they will surrender without a fight. But if they fight, they will get whipped and so they will wherever they stand at fight.

We hear good news every day. A few more victories and all will be over and the country saved and soldiers be home to see their friends and loved ones. But I must stop. Goodbye.

Direct your letters to Washington D. C., 58th Regt. N. Y. S., French’s Brigade, Comp. H

From your dear Father


Letter 9

Camp near Yorktown, Virginia
May 1st 1862

Josey, my dear boy,

I received your letter six days after date and was glad to hear from you all and that you were all well except Gardner’s toothache. I hope that is well long before this [reaches you] for that is a dreadful complaint. I have often thought about the bad finger he had when I was on [my way] from New York but never happened to think about it when I wrote. But I hope it soon got well. I have not been very well most of the time since we left Manassas but I begin to feel right again now. I got so tired of the hard crackers that we have had to live on for two months that I couldn’t eat them and I thought I should almost starve for I had the no money to get anything that I could eat.

We have had no pay since January and we all got out of change but I thank God I got along and saved the money. I hate to buy anything here for we have to pat two prices for it—25 to 35 cents per lb. for cheese, 40 to 50 for butter, 25 for sugar, 36 a dozen for eggs, and everything else in proportion, and I will not buy anything that I can do without if I have a pocket full of money. I can live on my rations if I am well though it is not very good. If we could only have some fresh bread once in awhile, we could get along very well though our meat is scant sometimes. We often talk about home and the good things we used to have when there and what we will have again if we are so fortunate as to get home again which I trust we shall be, and that before long.

We have moved from Ship Point 4 miles further toward Yorktown so we are but 3 miles from the rebels’ outside entrenchments. We can hear the firing of the musketry and the whistling of the cannon balls and bomb shells. We think here that Yorktown will soon be taken or forsaken by the rebels but I hope they will not be able to get away. I want them to be whipped here or taken prisoners. Then the war will be soon ended. I expect to be home by the 1st of June.

The people that live around here look like a lazy, indolent people. I don’t see how they live. The land is poor and not half tilled and I fully believe that slavery is a great curse to Virginia.

We have just received two months pay that was due us on the 1st of March. There is two months due us now. I will send you a dollar in this and Charity one and 20 to Burlington. This is secesh paper that we found in a rebel shanty. We have had a rarity for dinner—potatoes—the first we have had for three months. They eat very good.

But I must stop. I can assure Mrs. Taylor that my trust is in my Heavenly Father of whom she speaks. He has protected me this far and I believe He will bring me safe again to my friends and those I love. You must all pray for me that this may be my happy lot. My love to all and I shall be glad to hear from you all again.

Your affectionate Father


Letter 10

Yorktown, Virginia
May 26, 1862

Josey, my dear boy,

I suppose you have answered my last letter but I have not been with the regiment for the last two days so I have not received it yet. I left it on the 14th ten miles above West Point. I had not been well for two weeks but had been doing duty and marching until that time when I became so sick I could not march any longer. I was then put on board one of the hospital boats loaded with sick and wounded. We was sent up to Columbia, 30 miles above West Point where we lay four days, then was brought to this place. When we landed here I was most starved. I was so weak I could hardly walk for all I got to eat on the boat was three spoons full of beans and a small piece of salt beef. There was plenty of hard crackers but them I could not eat. I happened to have a little bread and cheese in my haversack which kept me alive.

We landed here about noon but got nothing given to us until night and then nothing but a cup of tea and hard crackers which I could not eat but thank God, I had found something to eat long before night. I had some more and there is plenty of things to eat here but they are very dear. Butter is 50 cents per lb. and cheese 30. Eggs 30 to 40 cents per dozen, and other things in proportion. But I have very good quarters here and have a good straw bed to sleep on and we have fresh beef and rice soup once a day and tea at night and coffee in the morning and as many hard tack as we want. Those that are very sick get some other things but none get what they ought to have. Nearly every house and rebel shanty has been turned to hospitals and are all full and there is a good many very sick ones among us and many that never will be any better. And some are dying every day away from home and those they love. I pity these poor fellows that are so low that they cannot help themselves and think if they was only at home where they could have a kind wife or loving daughter to minister to their wants which are many. But many of them will never see their loved ones again. But none that are in the room with me are very bad. All eight in number are able to walk about.

The house that I am in has been a large hotel and I am in one of the lower and the largest front room. I have not been so that I could not walk about the place so I have a good chance to view the rebel works and they are wonderful. If they could not make a stand here, I do not know where they can. A negro came here the other day that had run away from Richmond and he says it is much the strongest fortified place. This seems like a healthy place. It is high and dry and the sea breezes from off the bay is refreshing. But still men get better slow. I am getting better slowly and perhaps will be able to return to my regiment in 8 or 10 days.

There is a church here with a bell on it. It seems like home to hear a church bell ring. We have meeting nearly [every] night and three times on Sunday which I like very much. Two men from Beverly has been here visiting the hospitals and holding meeting. I was within two miles of the battlefield at Williamsburg. Our division was ordered on in haste from here to reinforce the advance army but before we got there, the battle was over and the rebels had left so we was ordered back to Yorktown where we stayed four or five days, then took the boats for West Point.

But I now bring my letter to a close. I cannot tell when the war will come to a close now but perhaps the taking of Richmond may end it. I hope so for war is a horrible thing. I haven’t see a battlefield yet, but I tell you, I have seen enough of the horrors of war. You had better not not write to me until you hear from me again. I hope this will find you all well. I cannot get any postage stamps here and there is no post master so I cannot pay the postage on this. I send my love to you all and want you all to pray for me that God may still be with and bless me.

Your dear Father


Letter 11

N Y. V. 57th Regt., Comp. H
Richardson’s Division
French’s Brigade
Camp near Harrison’s Landing, Va.
July 29, 1862

Charity, my dear child,

It has been some time since you wrote to me but I will write a few more lines to you to let you know that I am well. Yes, I enjoy very good health now for which I am very thankful to my Heavenly Father and I hope that you enjoy the same great blessing.

We are here yet on the banks of the James River and the health of the army in general is better than it was when we first came here though the weather is very hot. We do not have much to do. We only drill an hour in the morn and one in the evening, and do some guard duty. We bathe in the James river every morning and keep as cool as we can the rest of the day by sitting under the trees or in our tents. We get pretty good rations now. Fresh beef twice and sometimes three times a week, and potatoes and onions and plenty of salt pork and beef with beans and rice.

And it is said we are going to have fresh bread the first of August. I hope we will for I am so tired of the hard crackers. I can hardly get them down. Ever since the 10th of March we have been living on these hard crackers and I tell you, we hate the sight of them. Sometimes we fry them and soak them in our coffee and in our soup & sometimes we stew them. But we are tired of them anyhow and we think that we ought to have bread now while we are encamped.

We soldiers are losing all the good things you have at home. We can not get anything good here without paying three times as much for it as it is worth and I do not like to do that but I hope the time will soon come when the war will be over and we be home to enjoy these things again. But I expect we shall stay here until fall. By that time the army will be strongly reinforced from the North. Then we can go and take Richmond and end the war. The rebels does not trouble us now. We do not see anything of them. I believe they are about ten miles off and I don’t think we shall have much fighting to do for some time.

I expect that you have been to Burlington to spend a week by this time and I hope you had a nice time. I should like to have been with you/ I expect John was pleased with your visit. But I bring my letter to a close. I hope you will be a good girl and I think you will. If we are good, we have nothing to fear for God is on our side and if He is for us, who can be against us? He loves all good folks and takes them to live with Hi in Heaven when the die. Oh I hope that we all shall get to Heaven when we are done with this world. There will be no war there, nor sin, nor sorrow.

The last letter I received from you was dated May 25th.

July 30th, I will mail this letter today. I feel right well this morning. Give my love to all the folks. Goodbye. — Your Father


Letter 12

N. Y. V. 57th Regt. Co. H
Richardson’s Division
French’s Brigade
[Harrison’s Landing, Virginia]
August 4, 1862

JOs., my dear boy,

I received your letter 5 days after date and was glad to hear from you and that you was well. I am very glad that you children keep so well and that I can feel while far away from you assured that you are all well off. I did not expect to be away from you so long and I want to get back to see you all very much but a few months more will soon slip by. Then the war will be over. I think, like you, that the North will come out all right, that the rebels will be subdued, and the Union saved though many may be slain. I have a sure trust in God that all will be right in the end and I feel too that he [will] protect and deliver me in the hour of danger and bring me safe home to you again.

We are encamped yet on the banks of the James river near Harrison’s Landing. I am right well now and the army in general is pretty healthy though quite a number is dying. The weather is very warm here now but we do not have much to do—only drill two hours a day, one in the morning and one in the evening. Then we lay or sit in our tents or under the trees in the heat of the day.

The rebels do not trouble us much now. The other night, however, they commenced about 1 o’clock to shell some of our camps and boats from the other side of the river. There was quite an excitement for a while. The shells from their artillery and our gunboats flew like streaks of lightning through the air but the shells from our gunboats was too hot and too big for them and soon put them to silence and made them leave. They did not do much damage. The next morning a brigade of our forces went over the river to see after them but they could not be found. They then burned a fine house and barn behind which the rebels had one of their batteries and all has been quiet since.

We are getting better rations now—potatoes and dried apples and onions and fresh beef three times a week and plenty of salt meat and beans and rice. And it said that we are going to have fresh bread but we do not see it yet but I hope that we soon shall have it for we are very tired of the hard crackers. We have lived on them so long, if we could only get soft bread, we could get along very well though we are missing many of the good things that you have at home. Everything is very dear here so that we have to pay three prices for all we buy. But thank God we live in hopes of a better day and pray that they may soon come and want you to pray for us.

I am glad that you have such a good barn and have it filled with good grain and that there is such good crops in the North so that we shall have plenty to eat. How thankful we should be the great Giver of every good & perfect gift for his blessings upon us. I am glad that you had such a nice time in Burlington…[rest of letter missing]


Letter 13

Newport News, Virginia
August 25, 1862

Jos., my dear boy,

I thought I would write you a few more lines to let you know my whereabouts. We left our camp at Harrison’s Landing on the 16th and arrived here last Friday the 22nd, marching all the way—a distance of 80 miles. We crossed the Chickahominy river on a pontoon bridge. This seemed like a slender bridge for such a large army to pass over with all its wagons and artillery but all got over safe but one team of mules. they run off and was all drowned. The driver got out.

We passed through Williamsburg and over the battleground of last April and also through Yorktown where we rested a part of the day and a night. About one half of the army took the boats there but Sumner’s Corps was sent here to take the boas and have been getting on board as fast as they can since Friday.

We are now on board a steamship [the S. R. Spaulding]—three regiments of us—and are laying at anchor waiting for further orders. We do not know where we are going but we expect to join Pope’s army. This is a very pleasant place laying on a neck of land between the James river and the Chesapeake Bay. The water here is salt and there is plenty of oysters and a good place for bathing. [You can see] a part of the masts of the warships Cumberland and Congress that was sunk by the rebel Merrimack.

August 27th. We left Newport News this morning about 3 o’clock and are now crossing the Chesapeake Bay. It looks very beautiful on the bay as the sun rises and we are nearly out of sight of land. Our ship is steering for the Potomac river.

August 27. We have now landed at Acquia Creek—about 40 miles from Washington. Here is the depot of the Fredericksburg and Richmond railroad. I believe we are going to Fredericksburg and I expect we shall have some fighting to do before long.

But I haven’t time to add only one thing more. I should like to be home now to get some good melons and peaches and tomatoes but I shall have to do without them. I send you a couple of little books which I want you to read through and see what a little child can do by the blessing of God. No more now.

Affectionately, — Father

[docketed by a different hand, “Father’s last letter.”]


In 1914, Joseph H. Chambers wrote to John S. Cook, the Superintendent of the Antietam National Cemetery looking for information with respect to his father’s gravesite. Here is the response received:

Antietam National Cemetery
Sharpsburg, Maryland
September 11, 1914

J. H. Chambers
Harrisburg, PA.

Sir,

Referring to your letter of September 10th 1914 asking information of the interment of Augustus Chambers, private Co. H, 57th N. Y. Vols., killed in action during the Battle of Antietam September 17, 1862. I have carefully gone over the burial record of this cemetery and do not find the name of Augustus Chambers, 57th N. Y. Vols, and of some 700 & odd N. Y. soldiers interred here. I find only one 57th body known. 1 If private soldier is in this cemetery, he must be an unknown soldier, there being 1848 unknown graves here.

Very respectfully, — John S. Cook, Superintendent

1 The soldier from the 57th New York was probably Private Henry F. Bugbee. See John Banks’ Civil War Blog: “Antietam Soldier Snapshot…”

Leave a comment