1862-63: Gustavus P. Soule to Hattie N. Walker

An unidentified member of the 1st New Hampshire Light Artillery (LOC)

These four letters were written by Gustavus P. Soule (1839-1893), the son of Hinchman S. and Lydia (Lincoln) Soule of Freeport, Cumberland county, Maine. Gus enlisted September 1861 as a private in the 1st New Hampshire Light Artillery. He reenlisted in December 1863 and survived the war.

The Battery had a proud record having been heavily engaged in most of the battles of the Army of the Potomac.

Gus wrote the letter to his cousin, Harriet (“Hattie”) N. Walker (1838-1883), the daughter of William and Lois D. (Soule) Walker of Yarmouth, Cumberland county, Maine. In 1866, Hattie married Orrin W. Brackett (1841-1900), a veteran of the 1st Battalion, Maine Light Artillery.

[My thanks to Ann Melichar for providing me with first drafts of these transcriptions.]

Letter 1

Addressed to Miss Hattie N. Walker, Yarmouth, Maine

May 22, [1862]
Camp opposite Fredericksburg

Cousin Hattie,

I believe that there is a letter due you from me. At any rate I will scribble a few lines to you. It is three weeks tomorrow since we arrived at this place. How much longer we shall stop here it is impossible to say. I think not long. The [pontoon] bridges across the river are now finished and there would seem to be no excuse for further delay. Meanwhile, we are very pleasantly situated on the banks of the Rappahannock. We get a very good view of the city and occasionally a view of some of the charming damsels of the city but they are mostly secesh, as their fathers, brothers, and lovers are all in the rebel army.

I was over to the Maine Cavalry yesterday. The boys were all right, most of them. Horatio was sick a few days but is all right now. True was kicked a few days ago by a horse on his leg, but is getting better. One of the Royall boys was in the hospital sick. They are encamped about a mile from us. The 5th Maine Battery arrived here last night and are encamped side of us. The are just from the state, not having drilled at all and as green as grass.

I believe I have written everything of interest and hoping you will write soon and give me all of the news. I will close. Give my best respects to all of the folks and all of the gals and believe me the same old sixpence.

G. Soule

1st N. H. Battery, Washington, D. C.


Letter 2

July 21 [1862]
Camp Opposite Fredericksburg

Cousin Hattie,

Not having heard from you for a long time, I thought it was about time to inquire the reason. What are you doing these times and how is old Sodom? I presume the boys are very busy haying at this time. Well now that is very good fun, if it ain’t too hot and the gals are out helping. By the way, how are the Sodom beauties? Have they all got married yet? I understand one of them have, but no more of this nonsense.

As for me, I am the same old sixpence as you will notice by this letter. My health thus far has been very good. We have been here five weeks yesterday and may stop here for weeks longer. The weather most of the time is very hot. The thermometer ranging as high as 110 in the shade—just the right kind of weather for Niggers and Contrabands. These fellows are very plenty in camp peddling all kinds of stuff [such] as pies and cakes, blackberries, milk, peanuts, and many other things too numerous to mention. They don’t charge anything—only five cents a glass for milk, 40 cents for butter and everything else in proportion.

In regard to war news there seems to be a calm just now. It may be the calm before the storm. The indications are that a battle will soon be fought before Richmond. The sooner the better for me. I want to see this rebellion crushed out. I notice that Maine is doing the fair thing in the way of bounty money. The sooner the new levy is raised, the sooner the war will be ended.

But I will close this long, rambling letter hoping you will excuse errors and blunders. Please give my best respects to the family and all inquiring friends, and write very soon.

Truly your friend, G. Soule

1st N. H. Battery, Washington, D. C.


Letter 3

Camp Pleasant, Virginia
June 3rd, 1863

Cousin Hattie,

Your letter of the 20th was duly received and perused with much pleasure and although I have not much news to write—nothing probably that will interest you—yet I will try and do the best I can. 

Since I last wrote, the Battle of Chancellorsville has been fought in which we were engaged. Although in the hottest of the fight at times, we escaped uninjured. It was a furious battle, but I presume you have seen full particulars. We are now encamped about three miles from Belle Plain and the prospect is that we shall remain here during the summer. We have a very pleasant camp as its name signifies. Our Main Street is covered with a bower of evergreen the whole length which makes it very shady.

I was over to 17th [Maine Infantry] yesterday. Saw Herb and Greely and all the rest of the boys. They are tough and hearty as can be. I had quite a surprise too over there. I met a person who I supposed was at home and never dreamed that he was out here. It was no other than David Lovell. He is driving a mule team and is looking hale and hearty. They are all coming over to make me a visit soon.

Hattie Walker

But to change the subject, I very well remember that ride in the narrow-seated wagon with Miss Nealy and somebody else too.  Please give her my best respects and take especial care of that wounded soldier. So Hat, you mean to marry a bold soldier boy? Well, I think that they are the best set of men in the world—men of the right stamp, true as steel. So go ahead, Hattie, and pick one up. If you don’t find one to your mind before I get home, just let me know and I will fetch one along with me. Tell Nell Roberts to be a good gal and mind her manners.

But my sheet is getting full and I will close. Please give my respects to all friends and write often, of course. I want that picture as soon as you can send it. I will send you mine as soon as I have it taken but there is no [photography] saloon nowhere near.

Respectfully yours, — G. Soule


Letter 4

Camp near Bealton Station
November 4, 1863

Cousin Hattie,

Your letter of the 25th was gladly received. I was sorry to hear that Aunt’s health is so poor this fall. I hope to be able to see her and all of the family one year from this time, and also join in the festivities of Thanksgiving Day. Herb has just called over to see me. We are now in the same Division with him and I see him frequently. His health is much better than it has been and I have hopes that he will soon be entirely well. George Oaks and the rest of the boys are all well.

So it seems Sodom is almost deserted at least by the younger fair sex. Now Hat, it will not do to let the old place run out in this way. You must do what you can to keep up the reputation of Sodom so that she can have her full complement of pretty girls as in days of yore. But I should not be surprised to hear that you had followed the example of Lide. By the way, they are a very steady couple indeed. Plus give my respects to them and also to Father and Mother Small. How I would like to step in off an evening and hear the old lady talk.

You wish to know how I fair on soldier’s grub. Well I am in very good condition at this time. And morally I am the same old sixpence. If I am alive and well when my time is out, you will soon see me in Old Sodom. But I must close, please write often. Give my best respects to all and I will subscribe myself. Yours truly, — G. Soule

Leave a comment