1865: Unidentified “Will” to his Parents

This letter was written by someone named “Will”—most likely a civilian clerk employed in the Office Depot Commissary at Hilton Head in March 1865. His prose and tone are those of a well-educated young sophisticate.

[My thanks to Alan Thompson for providing a first draft of this transcription.]

Transcription

Office Depot Commissary
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Sunday, March 19th, 1865

Dear Mother,

Your letter of the 10th has just arrived and as I am not very busy this morning, I hasten to reply. I have had a very fair taste of a soldier’s life, and can’t say that I should hanker after it enough to make it a business for life, yet there are times when I enjoyed myself. But the next day would be tough enough to spoil the novelty of the previous day. 

I could save more money at the “front” than I can here for the reason that it cost me nothing to live while there but here I have to mess with the clerks and we live some better, have butter, milk, &c. which is very high and of course all have to share the expense which amounts to about twenty-five dollars per month for each person to pay. Then I have to have paper collars and washing which costs one dollar per dozen so you see those things tell on my pocket. I get seventy-five dollars per month less one dollar and twenty-five cents which is deducted as government tax and makes my pay $73.75.

I like this place very well because I can get the mail as soon as it gets in. If it had not been for that, I should have stayed at the “front” with Captain Garrard, who took our place, but I don’t want that mentioned to Will Augur for it might get to Seward [Captain William Todd Seward of the Commissary Department] and that would spoil me in this estimation.

I don’t know the reason he gave my pictures away unless it was because he was afraid he would be troubled with bringing them here. I was mad but said nothing. I don’t know how long we will stay here but I hope a good while, but you can’t tell anything about this military business. We are liable to move at any moment. I [think] George Smith has got over his secesh ideas. He of course had to take the oath, and Jule told me his father wanted him to do the same and he was trying to then but Gen. Foster [General John Gray Foster] wouldn’t allow an officer to take it. I am going up to Savannah someday—also to Charleston. I will go and see Cousin Mary if I can find her.

I think that is a big thing on Sam Lovis. I never thought that of him and hope it will turn out to be false but it looks as though he was guilty. Alice did not write me the particulars. She only said that Sam and Hattie Mansfield had got through and the engagement broken. I am glad that sis wrote to Jule for I think it did him good to hear from friends. I hope Grammar will go to Johns and let Sam and Molly get to the devil where they belong. If she (Molly) asks for me, tell her to go to thunder is my best wishes for her. 

I hope by the time you get this, you and father will be rid of your cough. I was vaccinated day before yesterday by general order from headquarters that all persons should be vaccinated—both white and black—so three of us clerks went to the doctors and were vaccinated. What kind of matter we got, I don’t know, but we had to go and the fellow was rough enough about it. I don’t think mine is going to take so I don’t mind it. The others are going to take, I think.

I got that account of the Masonic apron. Walter sent it to me so you need not write to Will for it. I wrote to Will two weeks ago but don’t expect an answer yet awhile. I directed to Fort Fisher, so he will get it. Seward got a letter from him some days ago, but he didn’t tell me of it, as it was only a business letter concerning a horse that belongs to Seward. You ask how I like Seward. I like him first rate sometimes and sometimes I get a notion that I don’t, but I would have you, Ed, or anyone else write a word to Will that I ever breathe against Seward, but I will say that I was more favorably impressed with Captain Garrard. I slept with him at Combahee and had quite a talk with him. Could have got a job with him if I wished but I thought I would rather go to Hilton Head. 

I saw Jim Crofert. Met him at Mr. McGregor’s last Sunday evening but he didn’t know me. I say, Mother, I have had a terrible time with lice, both body and head lice. I got them at Combahee and did not find it out until I had been here a week when I made an examination because I itched so much and found I was covered. I threw away all my shirts, drawers, and stockings, bought new ones and covered them with a tar gum so think I am about rid of them. Haven’t found but two since. How is that for soldiering? 

I was surprised to hear that Sidney Smith was dead. Think it was very sudden. There has been quite a turn out for this place today as some congressmen with their families arrived, and the officers have been showing them the country. It is very hot here today and puts me in mind of summer. If it keeps on growing hot from this time, I think a person will bake in July. I am living very fairly now for the boys made a raid on the sanitary or hospital stores and stole bed ticks, white sheets, hair pillows, so that we have all get a bed filled with straw, sheets, pillow & case, and it goes [to] say after sleeping on the boards so long. We have a nigger to take care of our room, black our boots every morning, bring water, &c. So you see, we are doing well just now. I can get a horse when I wish and have had several horseback rides. 

Well, I must close up now. Give my love to Grammer, Mrs. Augur and all. Write Soon. From – Will.

Leave a comment